Crying Uncle

March 26, 2009 at 2:36 pm 16 comments



My uncle is a nice guy. If he has stayed in the Philippines, he’d be a politician. He was born to please. He enjoys doing favors for people. He doesn’t discriminate. He’s glad to be of help to any kababayan (fellow Filipino). He’d even volunteer his nephew’s services if it needs be.

The other day my uncle called. He said that a friend of a friend was arriving at the airport that afternoon and there was nobody to pick her up. It led me to quit work early complaining of a headache.

She was an Imelda Marcos look-alike. In fact, if she were 20 pounds heavier, you could mistake her for Imelda herself during the height of her power. She was wearing a blue green outfit and bejeweled like a Filipino matron should be. The smell of her perfume was quite strong for my sensitive nose. It made me sneeze twice.

She arrived with two big suitcases. They were so heavy that I wondered what could be inside. I had a problem loading them into the trunk of the car.

She sat in the back seat as befitting a royalty after waiting for me to open the door. I could only heave a sigh of relief. Her perfume would suffocate me if she sat in front.

Traffic was bad when we entered the freeway. It was commute time after all.

“Could you hurry up,” she demanded as we slowed to a crawl. “My brother is expecting me at seven.”

We passed the time engaged in small talk. She talked about their mansion in Dasmarinas Village, kids studying in exclusive schools, three live-in maids, and a personal driver. She also talked about their connection to this senator who i’m not privileged to disclose.

I could sense that she was a little annoyed when we arrived at our destination. She probably didn’t like my driving. For Pete’s sake, if that was the case, why didn’t she hire a limousine? That would save me the cost of the gas and the parking ticket for picking her up.

I saw a Mercedes and a Lexus parked on the driveway, too. Any one would have been preferable to my old, clunky car. Oh, I got it. She didn’t want to impose on her brother and his family.

I opened my trunk and unloaded her suitcases.

“Take them upstairs,” she ordered. I wondered what happened to “Please”.

The kid who opened the door tried to help me with the luggages, but she dismissed him.

“No, no, no, don’t bother, sweetie” she said waving at him to get out of the way. “He can handle it himself.”

It was almost dinner time. I could smell homemade cooking emanating from the kitchen. Was it pot roast? It made me hungry carrying the luggages to the guest room.

As I was leaving, she asked me to wait and handed me two dollars.

“Ma’m, how generous of you. but I can’t accept it.”

“Oh,” she muttered.

She took the dollar back and shoved me a dollar.

Again, I refused.

“Have it your way,” she said and closed the door.

As soon as I arrived home, I called uncle.

“Mission accomplished,” I reported.

“Great!” he said. “My friend’s friend would be pleased.”

“Listen,” he added. “your auntie’s cousin from Manila is…”

“Uncle, I have to hang up,” I apologized, excusing myself, before he could finish his sentence. “Somebody’s knocking at the door.”

Entry filed under: Blogroll, daily prompt. Tags: , , , , .

Myself Revealed The Naked Truth

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kate  |  March 27, 2009 at 8:01 am

    You’ve got excellent self control!

    Reply
  • 2. plaridel  |  March 27, 2009 at 8:51 am

    kate:

    sometimes i wonder if the rich are really different from you and i. their sense of entitlement borders on the ridiculous.

    Reply
  • 3. Rob Layton  |  March 28, 2009 at 7:08 pm

    Haha. Well told. Especially the ending. And it’s been years since I heard the word kababayan. Digging the filipino-flavored writing.

    Reply
  • 4. plaridel  |  March 29, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    rob:

    lesson learned is not to live close to the airport. haha.

    Reply
  • 5. emilayskie  |  March 29, 2009 at 1:46 pm

    Haha.. This is a funny story. $2 for the service. Haha.. And your uncle is funny too.

    Reply
  • 6. plaridel  |  March 29, 2009 at 3:14 pm

    emilayskie:

    haha. do you find my uncle funny? alright then, if he wants something done, i’ll send him to you.

    Reply
  • 7. emilayskie  |  March 29, 2009 at 3:28 pm

    Hahhaa.. No thanks. Buti na lang hindi nya ako pamangkin! Hahaha..

    Reply
  • 8. kelliemacaraeg  |  March 29, 2009 at 4:43 pm

    P, I really appreciate your comments in my blogsite. Likewise, you can write as hell.

    Your uncle is really a Filipino at heart.. where in Julie Andrew’s name did he get to meet these people? Nyahahahaha….

    I agree, Kate, P has excellent self control!! If I was in his position I could have drop her off the freeway! SMUG OLD HAG!

    Please excuse the profanity! 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. kelliemacaraeg  |  March 29, 2009 at 4:44 pm

    P.S. — the clip art is hilarious. LOLZ.

    Reply
  • 10. plaridel  |  March 29, 2009 at 9:02 pm

    kellie:

    dropping her off the freeway would be considered uncivilized. taking her to the nearest zoo would have been much better. hahaha.

    Reply
  • 11. kelliemacaraeg  |  March 30, 2009 at 12:58 am

    @ P: I rest my case. 🙂 nyahaha.

    Reply
  • […] he’s the same uncle that i wrote about in thispost. […]

    Reply
  • 13. Sascha Darlington  |  June 22, 2016 at 5:23 pm

    Yikes! Btw, I know what was in the cases: SHOES! 🙂

    Reply
    • 14. plaridel  |  June 22, 2016 at 7:37 pm

      sascha:

      i wasn’t allowed to look. 🙂

      Reply
  • 15. Springstart@life : Kamakhya  |  June 23, 2016 at 12:37 pm

    Well written, Good read!

    Reply
    • 16. plaridel  |  June 23, 2016 at 5:03 pm

      kamakhya:

      thank you. i’m glad you liked it. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


From The Book Thief

i have hated the words and i have loved them, and i hope i have made them right.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,713 other followers

Right Brain vs. Left Brain Test

In My Community

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 91,436 hits
Flag Counter

