It Doesn’t All Come Out in the Wash

March 31, 2009 at 5:54 pm 10 comments



Tuesday night isn’t ideal for doing the laundry. It’s supposed to be NCIS night. But tonight I have to make an exception. I need to wash a medium load. Otherwise, I’ve got nothing to wear for tomorrow’s trip. I’m flying to Washington first thing in the morning.

The washer/dryer closet is adjacent to the kitchen, so what’s the big deal? I can still watch TV while doing the laundry, right? The problem is that it scares the wits out of me going near the washer, especially on a quiet night like this when every bit of noise is magnified a thousand times. As you see, I’m afraid of what’s lurking inside the washer stealing my stuff.

Every now and then, I’d find a hankie, a washcloth, or a sock missing when I take the load out. Looking inside the washer, I couldn’t find any opening where it could go. This has led me to believe that a troll has taken up residence there. He could be a one-footed creature, too, as he takes only one sock at a time. He hasn’t taken any of my shorts, though. Maybe it’s the wrong size? I’d rather not speculate.

My drawers show the devastation that this interloper has wrought. Washcloths gone. Favorite hankies gone. Mismatched socks everywhere. But all shorts accounted for.

Most of my clothes are made of cotton, so they’re easy to wash. I don’t even have to sort them out. I just load them all together in one regular cycle. True, I used to have white socks before, but not anymore. After several washing, they have blended nicely with the others.

After the clothes are out of the dryer, they are ready to wear. I have long abandoned ironing. It’s a far cry from a previous life in the Philippines when everything was ironed including the underwear. In my opinion, it takes too much time. It’s not eco-friendly. It can burn you, too, if you’re not careful. It doesn’t make any difference, anyway, if you’re an IT professional. Crumpled shirts and mismatched socks are common in the industry. I even had a manager who would find himself wearing mismatched shoes in his rush to go to work. The staff didn’t find it funny. They found it endearing instead.

If somebody has any idea on how to get rid of the pesky troll in my washer, I’d be glad to hear it. Or could it just be a figment of my wild imagination? But there’s something that I do know. I’m losing stuff and I can’t figure out how in the world it’s happening.

Entry filed under: Blogroll, daily prompt. Tags: , , , .

The Naked Truth Traveling in the Time of Diarrhea

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. emilayskie  |  March 31, 2009 at 10:38 pm

    Haha.. This is a nice post to leave us with.

    For sure that troll you’re imagining doesn’t exist. Hahaha.. My washer might just have a habit of eating very small pieces of clothes. Make sure you feed it with a very tasty laundry soap meal. ^_^

    Take care on your journey to Washington!

    Reply
  • 2. jeniffer  |  April 1, 2009 at 8:53 pm

    sino nga kaya kumukuha nun? grabe naman.. pati yun pinapatos! hai buhay..

    Reply
  • 3. kate  |  April 2, 2009 at 8:18 am

    Have a good trip!

    Reply
  • 4. Encorcepe  |  April 3, 2009 at 7:35 pm

    Great site this plaridel.wordpress.com and I am really pleased to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. plaridel  |  April 9, 2009 at 11:39 am

    emilayskie:

    haha! you may just be one of those who don’t believe in santa claus either.

    Reply
  • 6. plaridel  |  April 9, 2009 at 11:41 am

    jeniffer:

    hai buhay, talaga! haha!

    Reply
  • 7. plaridel  |  April 9, 2009 at 11:42 am

    kate:

    it was an ok trip. it would have been great if i didn’t get sick.

    Reply
  • 8. plaridel  |  April 9, 2009 at 11:43 am

    encorcepe:

    thanks for the compliments. please come visit again.

    Reply
  • 9. Rob Layton  |  April 25, 2009 at 8:10 am

    Time seemed to slow down when I lived in the Philippines. When I lived there, I actually had time to do chores around the house, keep up with my family, and go to every get together or party, no matter how far the person lived. Out here, it’s ridiculously fast paced with no sign of slowing down. Faster technology doesn’t help us have more time to ourselves, only help us find ways to be faster ourselves, and work more for money that only keeps us moving.

    Reply
  • 10. plaridel  |  April 27, 2009 at 10:43 am

    rob:

    ah, those were the days! but i think if we learn to set up our priorities in this land of opportunities, we’ll get by.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


From The Book Thief

i have hated the words and i have loved them, and i hope i have made them right.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,724 other followers

Right Brain vs. Left Brain Test

In My Community

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 92,926 hits
Flag Counter

