a woman is like a box of chocolates

May 2, 2009 at 9:33 am 8 comments



i never thought i’d understand women until i heard alanis morissette’s song, “hand in my pocket.” every guy should listen to this song, learn its lyrics by heart, and he’d be on his way. just don’t blame me if you end up being a wimp in the process.

as alanis sings:

I’m broke but I’m happy
I’m poor but I’m kind
I’m short but I’m healthy, yeah
I’m high but I’m grounded
I’m sane but I’m overwhelmed
I’m lost but I’m hopeful baby

What it all comes down to
Is that everything’s gonna be fine fine fine
I’ve got one hand in my pocket
And the other one is giving a high five

I feel drunk but I’m sober
I’m young and I’m underpaid
I’m tired but I’m working, yeah

I care but I’m restless
I’m here but I’m really gone
I’m wrong and I’m sorry baby
What it all comes down to
Is that everything’s gonna be quite alright
I’ve got one hand in my pocket
And the other one is flicking a cigarette

What it all comes down to
Is that I haven’t got it all figured out just yet
I’ve got one hand in my pocket
And the other one is giving the peace sign

I’m free but I’m focused
I’m green but I’m wise
I’m hard but I’m friendly baby
I’m sad but I’m laughing
I’m brave but I’m chicken shit
I’m sick but I’m pretty baby
What it all boils down to
Is that no one’s really got it figured out just yet
I’ve got one hand in my pocket
And the other one is playing the piano

What it all comes down to my friends
Is that everything’s just fine fine fine
I’ve got one hand in my pocket
And the other one is hailing a taxi cab…

what it boils down to is that establishing a meaningful relationship with a woman is complicated. she’ll keep you guessing because she doesn’t really know what she wants. as a result, as forrest gump digging into his box of chocolates, you won’t always know what you’re going to get in a given moment.

but there’s one thing i do know. we can’t live without ’em.

Entry filed under: alanis morissette, Blogroll, chocolates, commentary, forrest gump, life, love, personal, relationships, women. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

An Arranged Marriage Lose Weight While You Sleep

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jeniffer  |  May 3, 2009 at 10:12 pm

    you won’t really understand a girl if you don’t know the word –UNDERSTAND… yup alanis morisette said it all.. all woman are very strong.. I believe.. it’s just that they don’t trust themselves.. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. thatwordinme  |  May 4, 2009 at 2:12 am

    they’re complicated, and you can never guess what’s on their mind. TRUE. They say one thing, and mean another. Like what a friend told me recently: it’s a challenge to get to know you.

    But let me just argue that it’s not because she doesn’t know what she wants. True, sometimes, she doesn’t. Most of the time, she does. She just cannot say it out. Tayong pinoy, may term diyan: Pakipot. Kunwari hindi nila alam o hindi nila gusto, but in fact, they do. Pakipot lang.

    Reply
  • 3. plaridel  |  May 4, 2009 at 1:10 pm

    jeniffer:

    yes, the goal is to understand and learn to enjoy the ride.

    Reply
  • 4. plaridel  |  May 4, 2009 at 1:11 pm

    thatwordinme:

    i guess the female brain is wired differently and there’s nothing we can do about it. incidentally, you may find my other rantings on the subject interesting. just keep an open mind and don’t take it too seriously, ok? peace!

    on buying women presents

    are women really that smart?

    Reply
  • 5. emilayskie  |  May 5, 2009 at 12:03 am

    Everything you said is right. Most of the time I personally wanted my guy to understand or know what I am thinking or I was trying to say without saying it directly. Maybe that’s just how most of women’s brain works. I don’t know.

    But I liked the last line. Hihi.. Teka kantahin ko nga tong song na to. Hehe..

    Reply
  • 6. plaridel  |  May 5, 2009 at 10:46 pm

    emilayskie:

    it’s hard to second guess sometimes, but we’re trying. you can bet on that.

    Reply
  • 7. bernardumali  |  May 10, 2009 at 5:20 pm

    wow, ngayon ko lang naintindihan ang kanta na ‘to, hindi ko siya pinapansin dati hehehe. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Reply
  • 8. plaridel  |  May 11, 2009 at 4:12 pm

    bernard:

    welcome to the club. as you can see, we have a lot to learn. 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


From The Book Thief

i have hated the words and i have loved them, and i hope i have made them right.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,747 other followers

Right Brain vs. Left Brain Test

In My Community

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 94,762 hits
Flag Counter

