A Sucker is Born Everyday

May 17, 2009 at 4:06 pm 11 comments

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Credit: http://www.tattoostime.com
 
I was opening the trunk of my car in the parking lot at Fry’s Electronics when a middle-aged man in a late model Lexus parked beside me. He opened his window and motioned me to come over. I thought he was lost and he would be asking for directions. He was well-dressed. when he spoke, I recognized the Italian accent.

He said he would be leaving for Italy that night. From the car’s compartment, he took his passport and plane ticket and showed them to me. He said he had a problem. He ran out of cash and needed money to pay for the rental car.

Looking at my raggedy coat, he must have taken pity of me.

“I could sell you a nice Armani leather jacket,” he said.

“I don’t have that kind of money,” I said.

“How much money do you have?” he asked. “This jacket retails for $500-$700, but I can give it to you for a good price.”

“I’m not really interested”

“Come on, tell me, how much money you got?. My plane’s leaving tonight.”

Again, he flashed his passport and plane ticket to me. His pleading eyes were hard to resist.

“How about $100?”

“Deal!”

He took the money, gave me the jacket, and off he went in a hurry.

As I watched him leave, I wondered what did I do to deserve this fortune. There were no less than a hundred people in the parking lot, and yet, he chose me.

Did he really see the word “sucker” written on my forehead?

And it didn’t come without a price. There’d be no money for toilet paper until pay day. Until then, i’d have to find creative ways to take care of business. Any ideas?

Entry filed under: Blogroll, daily prompt. Tags: , , , .

Food for Thought Somewhere I Have Never Travelled

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. emilayskie  |  May 18, 2009 at 7:04 pm

    Nice story. $100 for an armani leather jacket, hmmm.. I’m not sure though if it’s worth it. No idea.

    Reply
  • 2. thatwordinme  |  May 19, 2009 at 1:55 am

    haha oh my, i just had to ask: do you really do that, buy armani from random guys for 100 dollars? haha.

    Reply
  • 3. plaridel  |  May 19, 2009 at 9:34 am

    emilayskie:

    i knew i’d been had when he left the parking lot as fast as he could.

    Reply
  • 4. plaridel  |  May 19, 2009 at 9:35 am

    thatwordinme:

    i know. i know. i’m such a dork.

    Reply
  • 5. AC  |  May 19, 2009 at 6:38 pm

    so how’s the jacket? hehehe

    Reply
  • 6. AC  |  May 19, 2009 at 6:40 pm

    oh and btw, i don’t care about armani.. i’d rather spend my $100 for something else. hehehe. mahilig ka ba sa signature items? hehe 😀

    Reply
  • 7. plaridel  |  May 19, 2009 at 10:29 pm

    ac:

    the jacket? i think it looks good on me but not vice versa. incidentally, when you come to think of it, designer stuff offer more value for the money. they seem to fit right and last a little longer.

    Reply
  • 8. walongbote  |  May 21, 2009 at 2:38 am

    what’s wrong with armani? I really don’t know how much it cost?.. kaya di ko mabigay comment ko kung ok ba na binili mo xa or nalugi ka.. hai.. I’m just telling the truth 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. plaridel  |  May 21, 2009 at 3:37 pm

    walongbote:

    the guy sold me an imitation. the wholesale price of an authentic armani leather jacket is at least $750. so, no way anybody can sell it for less than that. the one that brad pitt and the likes wear cost more than $1,000.

    Reply
  • 10. J.Kulisap  |  June 5, 2009 at 2:03 am

    May tatak na mamahalin man o wala, kung maligaya ka naman sa hatid na dulot ng dyaket..di na dapat iniisip ang halaga

    Pero kung sa praktikal na pamumuhay, may P50.00 sa ukay ukay.
    Armani din ang tatak, banlian lang ng mainit na tubig.
    Japorms na!!! ha ha ha

    Reply
  • 11. plaridel  |  June 5, 2009 at 3:56 pm

    j.kulisap:

    tama ka. price doesn’t matter. ang batayan ay ligayang idinulot ng dyaket na binili mahal man o mura o kahit naloko ka pa.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


From The Book Thief

i have hated the words and i have loved them, and i hope i have made them right.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,796 other followers

Right Brain vs. Left Brain Test

In My Community

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 99,992 hits
Flag Counter

