Taken For a Ride

October 10, 2009 at 2:25 pm 6 comments

Bike

 
It’s getting obvious that the trip from the computer to the refrigerator is not giving me enough exercise. I’m out of shape. When I look at myself in the mirror, I see a belly getting bigger than my chest. If my body were a fruit, it would be a pear. With a face like an orange and a body like a pear, I decided to do something about it. I got me a mountain bike.

This Saturday, I found the bike staring at me like a dog wanting to go out, so I said, ‘OK’, let’s go to Lake Chabot Park. The bike had a good workout and so did I. I never expected biking around the lake was that tough for a rookie.

I used a combination of riding the bike and walking the bike on the trail. When my thighs got tired, I dismounted and pushed the bike uphill. When that wasn’t enough, I went under the shade pretending to enjoy the view. In the beginning, I was using my feet for braking by placing my feet on the ground. However, I found that going downhill was bad for my sneakers. It was also a meaningless exercise. The bike would just not stop. After a few close calls, I abandoned the idea and concentrated on learning to use the hand brakes.

I stayed in the park for three hours. I didn’t plan on staying that long, but I got lost and couldn’t find my way out.

I guess it would take some time before I get comfortable with this new bike, but I’m getting there. When people don’t step aside like scaredy cats and allow me the courtesy of evading them myself, I would have arrived.

Overall, I consider our first outing in the park a great experience.

Entry filed under: Blogroll, daily prompt. Tags: , , , .

my vote for the 2009 bloggers’ choice award (national) divine wrath or coincidence

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. J.Kulisap  |  October 12, 2009 at 3:37 pm

    Noong kabataan ka, para akong nakahithit ng isang dumptruck na katol sa kapayatan pero ngayon, ang aking tiyan ay parang abokado na may ulong hugis ubas..isinisisi ko ito sa maghapong pagkukulong sa aking lamesa at upuan sa trabaho pero maling sisihin ko ‘yon, pwede naman akong mag-ehersisyo..sinubukan ko naman pero naglalaho, ako ay isang ningas kugon.

    May gamot ba sa disiplina, na pwedeng inumin plaridel?

    Reply
  • 3. Nortehanon  |  October 14, 2009 at 7:21 am

    Biking! One of the favorite things I like to do. Nakakatuwa itong post mo na ito kasi na-remind na naman ako na matagal-tagal na rin pala mula noong huling sumampa ako sa bisikleta at kailanga ko nang magbisikletang muli.

    I have also written a post about my first biking experiences
    here

    Reply
    • 4. plaridel  |  October 15, 2009 at 8:40 am

      nortehanon:

      it’s a lot of fun! sige na, magbisikleta ka na uli.

      Reply
  • 5. emilayskie  |  October 15, 2009 at 12:49 pm

    LOLed at the “pear” and “pretending to enjoy the view” parts. Wahahahaha..

    I can’t remember the last I biked but I know that it’s really a good exercise. Yeah.. Maybe you would get the hang of it after a couple more days of using it. Which reminds me, I also wanted to buy my own bike. I wonder when.

    Reply
    • 6. plaridel  |  October 15, 2009 at 4:50 pm

      emilayskie:

      you made my day! buti naman at may natatawa sa aking obra kahit paisaisa lang. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


From The Book Thief

i have hated the words and i have loved them, and i hope i have made them right.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,796 other followers

Right Brain vs. Left Brain Test

In My Community

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 99,960 hits
Flag Counter

