Surviving the Bood Test

December 11, 2009 at 9:57 am 9 comments


 
It was raining when I went to the hospital this morning for my blood test, required for my annual physical exam next week.

There was hardly anybody in the hospital. Parking spaces were plentiful. When I went to the lab on the first floor, I was the only patient.

“Where are the people?” I asked the technician, trying to indulge her in small talk and hide my nervousness about the procedure.

“The sick people are upstairs,” she said.

“And the rest?”

“Oh, they must have gone shopping! In this kind of weather, the mall is the only place that’s dry.

She motioned me to sit comfortably on a high chair, then asked me which arm I preferred to draw the blood from.

“I’m left-handed.”

“Let’s do it on your left arm then.”

“I don’t think I could look while my arm is being violated,” I told her as she was getting the needle ready.

“No problem,” she said. “You can look at me or at our office decorations.”

I decided to look at the office decorations.

Suddenly, I felt a prick, and for a couple of minutes my eyes never wandered away from the office decorations.

Then, it was over. I felt her pulling the needle from my vein. She placed a gauze at the point of entry, pressed on it, and secured it with a tape.

“You can take it off after 20 minutes,” she said.

I noticed the rain had stopped on my way back to the car. I even saw a little bit of sun.

I breathed deeply and felt relieved it was over.

Entry filed under: Blogroll, daily prompt. Tags: , , .

i’m back have you mailed those cards yet?

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. AC  |  December 11, 2009 at 4:48 pm

    I am not a hospital/clinic/lab person.. I hate medical procedures even if I am surrounded by medical practitioners in the family. I’m afraid of needles and blood. But what do I do.. they are like CHANGES — inevitable. Hehehehe. 😀

    Reply
    • 2. plaridel  |  December 12, 2009 at 1:19 pm

      the next hurdle would be the actual physical exam. i shudder with the thought.

      Reply
  • 3. J.Kulisap  |  December 14, 2009 at 7:17 pm

    Ako din, as much as possible ayaw ko na binubulatlat ang aking pwet, titimbangin ang aking bayag, at kung anu-ano pa.

    Dati takot ako sa needle, pero hindi masakit kapag magaan at magaling ang kamay ng tumutusok.

    Reply
    • 4. plaridel  |  December 15, 2009 at 1:54 pm

      j.kulisap:

      the moment of truth is drawing near. i’d get my physical on thursday. 😦

      Reply
  • 5. J.Kulisap  |  December 16, 2009 at 12:43 am

    Hahaha, lakasan mo na lamang ang loob mo. Sana babae yong examiner. Wink

    Reply
  • 6. Fortunately Human  |  March 8, 2017 at 11:19 pm

    so scared…? your fault…why did you chose to look at the office decorations…?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


From The Book Thief

i have hated the words and i have loved them, and i hope i have made them right.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,724 other followers

Right Brain vs. Left Brain Test

In My Community

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 92,828 hits
Flag Counter

