Big Mac, Anyone?

January 7, 2010 at 3:29 pm 3 comments



I put on my favorite pair of pants this morning and it didn’t feel right. It was tight. At first, I wondered if I accidentally washed it in hot water that it shrunk. But later I found out I actually gained an inch around my waist line. I’m now size 33.

I consider this as an omen of bad things to come. I’m getting bigger. I’m tipping the scale at 153 pounds in my shorts and I’ve only myself to blame. True, it’s still 7 pounds shy of my ideal weight, but it’s getting there. It’s getting there.

I’ve been under a lot of stress lately. consuming beer and junk foods has provided some comfort, but it hasn’t helped in the waist area. To make matters worse, the past holiday season didn’t help. It provided additional stress and opportunity to eat more than your tummy could normally hold. Who cares if millions of people are dying of hunger around the world?

If there’s some consolation, I’m not alone in this battle of the bulge. it’s a worldwide phenomenon except perhaps in Darfur where fastfood and all-you-can eat buffet chains have yet to make an inroad.

According to a recent survey, 1 ouf 3 Americans is obese. The average American men’s waist hovers around 37 inches and there’s no end to its expansion in sight. Just walk around the mall and you’d know what I mean. Members of the opposite sex aren’t faring well either. The average waist of American women today is 35.5 inches and still growing. Marilyn Monroe must be turning over in her grave!

I’m afraid the road to fat city will continue unabated because our market driven economy has given it its two thumbs up. It’s been a big boost to the bottom line of a lot of companies. For example, Macdonalds and its kin have encouraged its clientele to eat more by supersizing their offerings. This enables them to increase their sales figure making their stockholders happy including industries feeding at their trough.

The medical and health professions have welcomed this phenomenon with bated breath as well. It is thought the increase in waist size to be a harbinger for serious diseases like diabetes and hypertension. As a result, it has provided them with an ample supply of potential patients.

As this year is ending, I’d like to make ‘eating healthy’ to be a part of this New Year’s resolution.

In the meantime, this on-again, off-again vegetarian is going to enjoy this Big Mac and large fries while he can.

Entry filed under: Blogroll, daily prompt. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

when the thought doesn’t count To Kimay: In Memoriam

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. J.Kulisap  |  January 8, 2010 at 1:32 am

    I have to tell you, I started jumping for five minutes since 2010 came.

    Not bad right?

    Nahnahnah.

    My pal told me, you are no longer cutie, you look old and “mama” middle aged man.

    Blame it on my bulging tummy.

    How are you ma frend?

    Reply
    • 2. plaridel  |  January 8, 2010 at 3:10 pm

      j.kulisap:

      i think it’s the beer. and maybe we need to workout more. 🙂

      Reply
      • 3. J.Kulisap  |  January 8, 2010 at 7:59 pm

        Beer is not my water here, I drink booze but not that often. Maybe it’s the rice that really matter. Yah, work out

        Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


From The Book Thief

i have hated the words and i have loved them, and i hope i have made them right.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,713 other followers

Right Brain vs. Left Brain Test

In My Community

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 91,436 hits
Flag Counter

