Spring Cleaning for Underwears

February 26, 2010 at 10:34 am 10 comments


 
Springtime is in the air. It’s that time again when college students make use of their parents’ financial resources and go to faraway places to drink a lot of beer and lose their virginity many times over. For those of us who have to earn every cent, we’re glad that boring ritual is behind us. In its place, we can look forward to spring cleaning announcement at work when we can get rid of old computers, monitors, manuals, and leftover food in our drawers. To maintain the right work attitude, management can even spice it up by laying off a few people.

What you do at work should have a bearing on your personal life. Wouldn’t it be a good idea to have some kind of spring cleaning at home, too?

I’d start with my drawers where I keep my underwears. The other day I noticed that I’m running out of good pairs. Most in my inventory are suffering from waistband-fatigue hastened by serious reading in the john. Some have holes that are getting bigger due to neglect and too much scratching while watching TV alone and undisturbed. Sometimes they make do when you’re desperate, but it’s definitely no boost to your self-esteem.

This weekend I’ll sort out my modest collection and toss out the ones that can’t be salvaged anymore. After this exercise, I can determine how many pairs I need to replenish my dwindling stock and then go shopping.

For a timid person like me, shopping for underwears goes along with buying condoms. It’s a nerve-wrecking experience. but sometimes you have to do what you have to do. Running out of these basic necessities and going commando isn’t acceptable in all cases.

I find it interesting that manufacturers don’t have universal sizes for underwears. To make sure that it fits right, you have to try it on. Too tight and your blood circulation suffers. Too loose and it goes down when you take your pants off leaving you exposed and inviting to a wandering bee.

Much as I regret, I don’t feel safe trying a pair of underwear from the rack. I put it on top of my existing one. I don’t care if it was Brad Pitt or William Shatner who tried it on previously. My rule of thumb is, if it’s not good enough to blow your nose on it, it’s not good enough to wear without protection.

First the underwear, then the world. I like the sound of it, don’t you?

Entry filed under: Blogroll, daily prompt. Tags: , , , , , .

The Brief History of the Dead From Gandhi to Sharmila

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lara croft  |  February 27, 2010 at 10:44 am

    Trying hard to be funny?

    Reply
    • 2. plaridel  |  March 1, 2010 at 11:38 am

      lara:

      hmmm… i think i know you. i’m pleading the 5th amendment. lol.

      Reply
  • 3. candice salazar  |  February 27, 2010 at 3:23 pm

    ah, spring cleaning but don’t throw away tax receipts, our deadline is on the last day of april, i am not too sure in the US. After that, definitely a good idea to start from within and next step will be outside our backyard πŸ™‚ thanks for the comments on my poem. About my fav poets and poetry, i like the style of Sylvia Plath, some of the imagists , haikus and some done by not so famous poets.

    Reply
    • 4. plaridel  |  March 1, 2010 at 11:49 am

      candice:

      i’m getting ready to file my income tax due on april 15th. i want that taken care of before my scheduled trip to washington, dc ealy in april. πŸ™‚

      yes, i agree with you that as far as spring cleaning is concerned, it’s a good idea to start from within. that’s why i’m starting with my underwears, whoops!

      Reply
  • 5. jeniffer  |  March 1, 2010 at 5:39 am

    lose their virginity many times over? siguro sa mga kano uso yan.. pero sa PINAS di naman lahat. Kabibili ko lang ng underweir so di ako kasama sa mga mamili ng underweir this summer.. nakakatawa talaga itong post mo.. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • 6. plaridel  |  March 1, 2010 at 11:56 am

      jeniffer:

      of course, i’m just joking about the virginity thing. salamat naman at natuwa ka sa post ko. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  • 7. Ruchi  |  March 3, 2010 at 4:17 am

    Hi Plaridel,

    This is in response to your query on Irom Sharmila. Sadly, there hasn’t been any constructive update. Last I heard she was moved from the capital city jail hospital to her home state where she is still being held captive and being force fed via tubes. THe government has still managed to conveniently ignore her, but what is more sad is that very few Indians know about her endeavors, despite the fact that we are the nation that proudly patents the concept of Satyagraha.

    There is however, an ongoing campaign – ‘Gandhi to Sharmila’ which began on 30th jan this year and ends on 14th March (her b’day!) that is attempting to create awareness of her cause. So far though, I think it has been able to create more awareness in Korea than back home!

    I guess, we are all somewhere just seasonal patriots. 😦

    Cheers,
    Ruchi

    P.S.: It was a nice and funny post, by the way! πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • 8. plaridel  |  March 3, 2010 at 10:11 pm

      ruchi:

      thanks for the info. i’ll post something about sharmila one of these days.

      Reply
  • 9. AC  |  March 7, 2010 at 7:30 am

    It’s really hard for me to buy underwear, specially the ones for the top. Really hard.. it takes me a couple of hours before I finally get one. Also, I hate it coz my undies are a bit pricey.. but I cannot do anything about it coz the cheaper ones won’t really help me carry these blessings/curse.

    Perhaps you already know what I’m talking about. Hahaha! πŸ˜†

    Reply
    • 10. plaridel  |  March 7, 2010 at 12:30 pm

      ac:

      er, i think i know what you mean, but i’m not supposed to tell. 😦

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


From The Book Thief

i have hated the words and i have loved them, and i hope i have made them right.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,792 other followers

Right Brain vs. Left Brain Test

In My Community

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 99,334 hits
Flag Counter

