A Birthday Greeting

July 7, 2010 at 1:00 am 7 comments



Dear One,

You’d probably think I forgot your birthday today, but I didn’t. You know, I don’t easily forget important dates. After all, I’m a historfy buff.

I thought of writing you a poem, but nah! I don’t think so. I get so emotionally drained when I write one and run the risk of putting into words stuff that should remain unspoken.

I remember when I was eleven, I thought that, at 25, I’d have a good job and family of my own. That didn’t come to pass. In the current paradigm where 60 is the new 40 and 40 is the new 20 and so on, at 25, I was rightfully 5, still a blabbering idiot, no direction in life, and needing parental support.

By comparison, look at you. At 25, you’re hitting on all cylinders. You’ve already made a name for yourself with real accomplishments under your belt. Perhaps it’s your faith that’s sustaining you throughout the years. It must be a blessing to have seen the light early in life. Don’t ever lose it, ok?

I’m way past 25 now. I’d learned to live and fought my battles. I’d been bruised and battered. I’d fallen and I’d stood up and I’d taken more of the beatings in a bid to survive. I did survive, but, in the process, I’d become damaged goods. On the surface you may not see what I’d been through. You’ve got to undress me completely to see the scars. But i digress.

At 25, I see your future beckoning so brightly ahead that you’ll need good sunglasses to protect your vision. Ah, the best is yet to come. I hope that in spite of your busy schedules, you’d continue in your ministry to help the less fortunate. That’s really cool, if you ask me. In the meantime, celebrate this special milestone in your life with gladness and gratefulness surrounded by friends and loved ones.

Yours truly,
P.

Entry filed under: Blogroll, personal. Tags: , , , .

Nothing Lasts Forever volunteering at the annual run

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. KZ  |  July 7, 2010 at 10:17 am

    This is heartfelt, thank you πŸ™‚ I always say to myself that the best gift we can give people is time, and that you gave your time to writing this means a lot πŸ™‚

    Thanks friend! Your words are encouraging! You’re right. Faith is the anchor, but more, it’s the Who of Faith πŸ™‚ We all can get to know Jesus if we’re only willing πŸ™‚ I hope you will be!

    And yes, life has so much to offer πŸ™‚ I’m excited!

    Reply
    • 2. plaridel  |  July 7, 2010 at 4:24 pm

      kz:

      you’re welcome. it’s a special day. i don’t want to let it pass without saying a word.

      Reply
  • 3. BK87  |  July 7, 2010 at 1:40 pm

    Oh, how sweet! My birthday is on July 15th. Will you do one for me, too?

    Reply
    • 4. plaridel  |  July 7, 2010 at 4:25 pm

      bk87:

      hey, it falls on a pay day. how about dinner instead?

      Reply
      • 5. BK87  |  July 8, 2010 at 2:34 pm

        Hehehe… You can’t afford me. πŸ™‚ On second thought, sure, let’s meet after work on Thursday.

        Reply
  • 6. AC  |  July 9, 2010 at 9:04 pm

    awwww…

    probably one of the reasons why i am down nowadays is because im 25 (turning 26, actually) and just like you when you were this age, still need parental support and direction in life.

    happy birthday to your friend. πŸ™‚ such a sweet way to greet. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • 7. plaridel  |  July 10, 2010 at 7:58 am

      ac:

      she had a blast. πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


From The Book Thief

i have hated the words and i have loved them, and i hope i have made them right.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,792 other followers

Right Brain vs. Left Brain Test

In My Community

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 99,334 hits
Flag Counter

