On the Road to Vegan Living

August 31, 2010 at 10:13 am 8 comments

Wicca Rock promotes love of nature, preservati...

Image via Wikipedia

You have just dined, and however scrupulously the slaughterhouse is concealed in the graceful distance of miles, there is complicity.
-Ralph weld Emerson

When it comes to food, I will eat anything. In my travels, I’ve eaten all sorts of creatures including bugs and insects. It doesn’t matter whether they’re airborne or grounded. It doesn’t matter whether they are served in one piece with their lifeless eyes staring at me. As long as other people at the table consider them fit to eat, who am I to refuse? It would be considered impolite. My only requirement is that the offering has to be cooked.

Once I was visiting a small village in the Philippines. The host invited me to the killing of a pig. He thought it would be something for me to witness first hand. He woke me up at dawn and took me to a neighbor’s barn. When we arrived, two of his friends were already there. They hanged the pig upside down and cut its throat and caught the blood in a cup. As the guest of honor, they offered me the fresh blood.

“Drink it while it’s still warm,” I was told.

“Sorry, guys,” I said hearing the pig still heaving in the background. “As much as I want to oblige you, I can’t handle raw stuff.”

I was glad they didn’t insist. After cutting the pig into pieces, we had barbecue and soup consisting of blood and internal organs. They went well with beer.

Lately, however, I find myself getting picky about what I eat. I think I’m becoming a vegetarian. I find meat and seafood don’t appeal to me as much as it used to.

I haven’t had a hamburger nor visited taco bell in a while. It doesn’t help knowing that the source of the meat can’t be easily traced. It has been grounded from the combined carcasses of cows raised locally in the U.S. and elsewhere in the world where health regulations can be less strict.

I have tended to avoid all you can eat joints as well, especially the Chinese buffets. The food tastes good and really cheap. But is there really a way of knowing what you’re being served? The news are filled with reports of contaminated food coming from China where animals are fed growth hormones proven to be harmful to humans. You also read reports about seafood such as shrimps fed with antibiotics so they can survive in dirty, crowded ponds. Next time you have diarrhea after visiting these joints, you’ll realize you get what you paid for.

I remember the time I told a friend from Utah about the pig-killing incident. he exclaimed in horror that we Filipinos are savages. He was dead serious in his indignation. He can call me what he wants, but I’d prefer the meat of that pig from the best steaks you can buy at Costco anytime. At least, I know where it came from.

Entry filed under: Blogroll. Tags: , , , , , .

what’s the hold up? a case of mistaken identity

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. virtualanimosity  |  September 1, 2010 at 9:16 pm

    if you’re going vegan good for you. ive started excluding pork in my menu since early last year and im no longer eating rice since last week…im still fat 😆 but that’s not the motive. i just want to be healthier.

    (wonders) do i really have to comment? hehe

    Reply
    • 2. plaridel  |  September 2, 2010 at 12:31 pm

      virtualanimosity:

      moderation should be the rule. as long as you don’t overindulge yourself in any food group, you’ll be ok.

      Reply
  • 3. squeesHeami  |  September 6, 2010 at 12:15 am

    For the help please use http://www.google.com

    Reply
  • 4. Indira  |  February 7, 2016 at 8:22 pm

    Interesting experiences you have had. Going veg is not impossible but difficult for a non-veg.

    Reply
    • 5. plaridel  |  February 8, 2016 at 11:31 am

      indira:

      i know especially when your life revolves around meat-eaters.

      Reply
      • 6. Indira  |  February 8, 2016 at 8:16 pm

        🙂

        Reply
  • 7. Ngobesing Romanus  |  February 7, 2016 at 8:53 pm

    I do eat meat but abhor the cruel way animals are sometimes slaughtered. If a way could be devised to make it happen fast so they don’t undergo too much pain.

    Reply
    • 8. plaridel  |  February 8, 2016 at 11:30 am

      ngobesing romanus:

      i agree, totally.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


From The Book Thief

i have hated the words and i have loved them, and i hope i have made them right.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,694 other followers

Right Brain vs. Left Brain Test

In My Community

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 90,009 hits
Flag Counter

