The Secret Is Out

March 23, 2011 at 1:19 am 18 comments


Charlie Brown and Linus – Charles Schulz

I’ve been keeping this secret for sometime and it appears I can’t hide it any longer. For days my co-workers have been speculating about the nature of my disease, but now the truth is out. One of them spotted me buying Halls Menthol at the corner store.

I thought I would be excused from having a bad cold this season. I’ve been mistaken. I’ve taken all the precautions. I’ve washed my hands as often as I could and not stop washing until I’ve finished singing ‘Happy Birthday’ mentally. I’ve avoided suspicious carriers of the virus, not even looking them in the eye. I’ve consumed gallons of orange juice. After fighting a heroic battle, however, I’ve finally succumbed to the allergens in the air and the unusually capricious weather at this time of the year.

Yesterday was such an agony at work. I had to attend several meetings. I felt OK when I was by myself in my cubicle, but my misery started when I went to the first meeting. In the company of my co-workers, my throat started to itch and could only be relieved by coughing. I tried everything to suppress it. I tried clearing my throat by drinking water from the bottle. I tried crossing my legs one way and then crossing them the other way. I tried singing ‘I Gotta Feeling’ in my mind. I tried not to yawn at the presentation. But nothing worked. And so I had to cough three times in succession. To my surprise, two of my co-workers started coughing too. It was then that I realized we were in a game of chicken. Everybody tried his darn best not to cough first in the presence of the boss.

Today my cold has turned for the worse. I feel lousy and and terrible. I feel like a worn-out winter coat hanging in the closet. People have noticed that even my voice has changed and I’m past puberty. I think I’ll go to bed early tonight for a change. Hopefully, I’ll feel better tomorrow.

Entry filed under: Blogroll, daily prompt. Tags: , , , , , , .

It’s Been a Long Winter read and weep

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Joy  |  March 24, 2011 at 7:30 am

    You’re such a baby. Mwah!

    Reply
    • 2. plaridel  |  March 24, 2011 at 10:50 am

      joy:

      you can’t be serious! 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. sub  |  March 24, 2011 at 5:55 pm

    ur like my boss, akala nyo siguro super human kayo! you dont know how to rest, tsk tsk

    anyway, get well soon plaridel and maybe its about time you find someone to take care of you hehe, God Bless

    Reply
    • 4. plaridel  |  March 24, 2011 at 8:05 pm

      sub:

      too bad. jessica alba is already taken. 😦

      Reply
      • 5. sub  |  March 25, 2011 at 8:25 pm

        😆 thats the spirit my boy! i guess you’ll just have to settle for natalie portman 😛

        Reply
        • 6. plaridel  |  March 26, 2011 at 9:18 am

          sub:

          natalie portman is no longer available. she’s engaged to a french choreographer and pregnant with his baby..

          Reply
          • 7. sub  |  March 28, 2011 at 9:16 pm

            you’re not really into show business huh? 😆 hindi ka masyadong updated!

            Reply
            • 8. plaridel  |  March 29, 2011 at 9:28 am

              sub:

              blame it on the internet. it’s all over the place. 🙂

              Reply
  • 9. fortuitous faery  |  March 24, 2011 at 9:21 pm

    feel better! double your fluid intake!

    Reply
    • 10. plaridel  |  March 25, 2011 at 10:54 am

      fortuitous faery:

      thanks, i’m feeling much better now. looking forward to the weekend. .

      Reply
      • 11. SkippyHeart  |  March 27, 2011 at 6:48 pm

        good to know that you’re feeling better now. Take care and stay well! 🙂

        Reply
        • 12. plaridel  |  March 29, 2011 at 9:28 am

          skippyheart:

          i’m very well. my natural voice has come back! now, if only i can sing…

          Reply
  • 13. coolwaterworks  |  March 29, 2011 at 7:07 am

    Good to read (from your responses) that you are now getting better Plaridel…

    Be well…

    Reply
    • 14. plaridel  |  March 29, 2011 at 9:29 am

      coolwaterworks:

      thank you, bro.

      Reply
  • 15. Judy Marie Santiago  |  March 29, 2011 at 5:08 pm

    Ahhh that’s bad. Take care of your health, me i’m done with my pesky measles. Keep drinking lots of fluids and take vitamin C. Take care and God bless!

    Reply
    • 16. plaridel  |  March 29, 2011 at 6:23 pm

      judy:

      looking forward to sunny days ahead. i’m ok now as in OK. 🙂 i hope the memory of the measles on your face will be gone soon.

      Reply
  • 17. Epi B  |  February 17, 2017 at 1:50 pm

    Having to suppress a cough is the worst feeling.

    Reply
    • 18. plaridel  |  February 17, 2017 at 2:02 pm

      epi:

      yes, that’s very true. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


From The Book Thief

i have hated the words and i have loved them, and i hope i have made them right.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,713 other followers

Right Brain vs. Left Brain Test

In My Community

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 91,436 hits
Flag Counter

