Do the Math: Secret to Staying Young

April 20, 2011 at 1:31 am 30 comments


 
I’ve been mulling about this angst that some women have about age. No offense to womanhood, but I don’t understand why they find it hard to play their age.

It starts early in life. At 3, they can’t wait to be 5. At 5, they can’t wait to be 7. At 7, they can’t wait to be 13. At 13, they can’t wait to be 16. At 16, they can’t wait to be 18. At 18, they can’t wait to be 21. At 21, they can’t wait to be 27. At 27, however, their perspectives suddenly change.

The “can’t wait” attitude is gone. It seems that the spectre of turning 30 soon is rubbing them the wrong way. Is it because 30 means to them the end of the road? Small wonder that they will try everything to prevent it from happening.

I’ve heard that a woman becomes entitled to certain perks when she turns 30. One of them is the ability to reverse the aging process. She does it by deducting one year from her age on succeeding birthdays. It means, by her own volition, she would be 29 next year, 28 the year after that, and so on. She can continue this practice until it becomes obviously ridiculous. When such time comes, she can start adding one year back to her age. Then the reverse process begins once she reaches the magic age of 30 again. Isn’t it wonderful?

The origin of this practice has been lost in the mists of time. Yhe rumor has it that Cleopatra of Egypt and Helen of Troy took advantage of it to preserve their youth, although it should be considered hearsay as even the National Enquirer couldn’t find anybody alive to confirm it.

If I were to venture a guess, I will trace it back to the late 19th century. It’s likely that the idea came from a noted female mathematician from that era whose identity I can’t reveal in the name of national security. Incidentally, it was also around that time when Avon became a household name. As you know, it was Avon who brought perfumes, cosmetics, and personal care products to the masses, hitherto available only to the upper class. No doubt about it, these products have made lying about one’s age manageable. Botox and liposuction later on have made it into a science.

I admire women who age gracefully and being true to themselves. They know that they can’t really hold on to their youth. It’s useless as trying to catch the wind on their hands. As a result, they just let it rip. They just let nature take its course.

Entry filed under: Blogroll, daily prompt. Tags: , , , , .

beloved every girl must watch this

30 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kelli  |  April 21, 2011 at 5:42 am

    I joked that I turned 29 for the first time this year, lol. I think for some of us, it’s because all our lives up until now we had imagined that we would have done more, accomplished more, be somewhere more exciting in our lives by the time 30 rolled around.

    Good post!

    Reply
    • 2. plaridel  |  April 22, 2011 at 5:10 pm

      kelli:

      age is only a number. i have female acquiantances whose lives began at 30. πŸ˜‰

      Reply
  • 3. sub  |  April 25, 2011 at 12:31 am

    “…it’s likely that the idea came from a noted female mathematician from that era whose identity i can’t reveal in the name of national security.”

    –are you serious?! i hope not, natawa ako ehh.

    oh well, i dont intend to deny my age. im even proud to say im 32 even if my birthday is months away. however i just turned 32 last saturday! πŸ™‚ im proud being single and 32 because i dont look like im 32 and im happy being single! πŸ™‚

    ill be 33 next year! weee!

    Reply
    • 4. plaridel  |  April 25, 2011 at 3:53 pm

      sub:

      but even then ypur secret is safe with me. i won’t tell anyone. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  • 5. wildstorm  |  April 25, 2011 at 8:58 am

    The 30’s is the best decade! I had my first and only baby 2 years ago and I was 42.

    Fill your life with love and a good healthy diet and exercise and age won’t ever be an issue!

    Reply
    • 6. plaridel  |  April 25, 2011 at 3:55 pm

      wildstorm:

      i agree that getting old should never be an issue. the status of your health can be at any age.

      Reply
  • 7. KZ  |  April 27, 2011 at 12:12 am

    well said. There was a time I couldn’t wait to be 20 because it felt like I was on crossroads, when you’re 20 up. You want to experience so much of life, be an adult. Now that I’m 25, I don’t really feel I’m any less different than when I was 18 wishing I were 20. What I mean is, I’m still the energetic, active girl I’ve always been. My energy hasn’t waned. But, age becomes a factor when we start considering marriage. As for aging gracefully, I’ve been told on more than one occasion that I look like a high school student. I’ll take that as a compliment πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • 8. plaridel  |  April 27, 2011 at 1:39 pm

      kz:

      it’s that time when we get weary of expecting that we start growing old. a truckload of expectations is what keeps us young at heart. as for age being a factor when considering marriage, i agree with you to a point. there are folks who married late in life who have a successful marriage. harrison ford and calista flockhart for one. when a couple wants to raise their own children, however, it pays to marry young. i can’t imagine mr. ford waking up in the wee hours of the night changing the baby’s diapers. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  • 9. AC  |  July 30, 2011 at 8:59 am

    Aray. I’m turninf 27 on Monday. πŸ™‚

    But its okay, coz even when I was younger people don’t believe when I tell them what my age is. I looked old for my age daw kase. So now that I’m in my late 20s, e du mas maganda kase totohanan nang matanda na ko. Hahaha.

    Reply
    • 10. plaridel  |  July 30, 2011 at 11:53 am

      ac:

      don’t take their word for it. of course, they’re just kidding you. i bet you look like somebody fresh out of college. have a happy birthday on the 1st. i’ll be thinking of ya.

      Reply
  • 11. ladystapler  |  October 11, 2011 at 9:43 pm

    Ssssshhh I am not 30, I am 25 (wink wink).

    Reply
    • 12. plaridel  |  October 12, 2011 at 8:30 am

      ladystapler:

      don’t worry, my lips are sealed.

      Reply
  • 13. The Elders of Us | Wired With Words  |  March 19, 2014 at 1:04 am

    […] do the math: secret to staying young | Musings of a Random Mind […]

    Reply
  • 14. rochellewisoff  |  September 5, 2014 at 1:36 pm

    Dear Plaridel,

    Too much math in that equation. πŸ˜‰ I think I’ll just have to accept my age and be the best I can be. In many ways I’m in my prime.

    Thank you for directing me here.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Reply
    • 15. plaridel  |  September 5, 2014 at 10:12 pm

      rochelle:

      i agree math can be intimidating. besides, age is just a number. ooops! that’s me talking math again. my apologies.

      Reply
  • 16. aysabaw  |  October 18, 2015 at 8:52 pm

    nice one Sir P πŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 19. eddaz  |  July 28, 2016 at 1:26 pm

    From my own perspective, age is nothing but numbers. I always prefer not to tell people how old I am unless they insist because they wouldn’t believe me anyways. I look almost 10 years younger than my age πŸ˜‰ really I’m not bluffing πŸ˜€

    Reply
    • 20. plaridel  |  July 28, 2016 at 8:53 pm

      eddaz:

      i believe you. πŸ™‚

      Reply
      • 21. eddaz  |  July 29, 2016 at 1:12 am

        πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

        Reply
        • 22. plaridel  |  July 29, 2016 at 6:32 pm

          eddaz:

          yes! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

          Reply
  • 23. AprilEsutton  |  July 28, 2016 at 3:52 pm

    I’ve always been young for my age, or people have a warped idea of how we really look at an age.

    Reply
    • 24. plaridel  |  July 28, 2016 at 8:54 pm

      april:

      you’re one of the lucky ones. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  • 25. Barbara Fisher  |  August 20, 2016 at 9:52 am

    Loved this! Why oh why do we not appreciate every season of life? Vanity.

    Reply
    • 26. plaridel  |  August 20, 2016 at 8:11 pm

      barbara:

      you have a point. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  • 27. Embrace the Hoary Head? | Musings and My Two Cents  |  August 20, 2016 at 11:08 am

    […] We are just never satisfied are we?Β  Another blogger said it best on this: https://plaridel.wordpress.com/2011/04/20/do-the-math-secret-to-staying-young/ […]

    Reply
    • 28. plaridel  |  August 20, 2016 at 8:14 pm

      barbara:

      thanks for the pingback. greatly appreciated. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  • 29. updownflight  |  April 11, 2017 at 11:08 am

    I remember on the eve of my 30th birthday I called almost everyone I knew to announce that I was still 29. Then the 30th birthday came. It was actually sad. My grandmother died that very day. Anyway, for the most part I haven’t dreaded my real age, but I am thinking a little negatively about turning 46 next month. Somehow being 45 was OK, but heading into the upper end of 40s towards 50 seems a little less exciting.

    Reply
    • 30. plaridel  |  April 13, 2017 at 7:52 pm

      updownflight:

      i think as long as you’re in good health and stay positive you’ll be ok no matter what age group you belong. πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


From The Book Thief

i have hated the words and i have loved them, and i hope i have made them right.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,691 other followers

Right Brain vs. Left Brain Test

In My Community

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 89,902 hits
Flag Counter

