My 50 Cents

October 3, 2011 at 1:00 am 8 comments



How’s your generosity meter? Do you give to the less fortunate? And while I’m at it, do you even go the extra mile to open your wallet until it hurts? It’s an irony that our generosity is most often extended more to those who need it less.

It was past noon on a Saturday. I was walking around the neighborhood when suddenly a brand new SUV stopped me on my tracks. The driver opened the window and waved at me. He was in his mid-forties wearing a baseball cap and a goatee. I thought he was lost. When I approached the vehicle, however, he didn’t ask for direction. Instead, he pointed to the boy sitting in the front seat and said, “Give the kid 50 cents. he wants to buy soda.” Meekly, I dug for the change in my pocket. After giving him the money, he smiled and told me to get out of there and closed the window.

As he was leaving me in the dust, I realized that I had been had. Under normal circumstances, I’d never give in so easily. I’d brush it aside as I have done so many times with panhandlers in the past. But this time, my defense system was down. It was totally caught by surprise and didn’t react to the situation as it should. Somehow, it wasn’t programmed to equate somebody driving a new SUV with panhandling. Perhaps, it didn’t also help that I was wearing a t-shirt with the bald eagle and American flag design and the words “Peace America” on it.

If there’s any consolation, I just hope that the kid got the soda that he was craving for at my expense and that I learned something from this episode. That is, if I can afford to give 50 cents to somebody driving a late model SUV, I should be able to give a dollar to the homeless and panhandlers, who, in the final analysis, are more deserving. After all, they are humans, too.

Entry filed under: Blogroll, daily prompt. Tags: , , , , .

honk if you heart nurses iSaw, iConquered, iCame…

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Judy Marie Santiago  |  October 5, 2011 at 7:15 am

    Don’t worry, that 50 cents will come back to you in a better form. 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. plaridel  |  October 5, 2011 at 4:01 pm

      judy:

      you’re not going to believe it, but i found a dollar bill on the sidewalk today. 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. charlywalker  |  October 5, 2011 at 7:57 am

    Yowza..I think you should have gotten the license plate number… Have you checked any milk cartons lately for kid pic’s?

    Reply
    • 4. plaridel  |  October 5, 2011 at 4:02 pm

      charly:

      darn, i should have, but i didn’t. 😦

      Reply
  • 5. AC  |  October 7, 2011 at 1:49 am

    if i were you…………

    i’d do the same. i think.

    hahahahahahahahhahaha! 😆

    Reply
    • 6. plaridel  |  October 7, 2011 at 3:32 pm

      ac:

      i’m afraid i don’t have the mojo. 😦

      Reply
  • 7. melanielynngriffin  |  August 22, 2016 at 9:12 am

    How sad! What is that guy teaching the kid? Ah well, you are contributing to the good – it’s your heart that matters, not whether or not you got “had.”

    Reply
    • 8. plaridel  |  August 23, 2016 at 7:47 pm

      melanie:

      thank you. sometimes, it’s better to give people the benefit of the doubt.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


From The Book Thief

i have hated the words and i have loved them, and i hope i have made them right.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,696 other followers

Right Brain vs. Left Brain Test

In My Community

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 90,134 hits
Flag Counter

