Lost My Job

March 2, 2012 at 3:53 pm 13 comments

Laid Off

 
As a result of outsourcing, I lost my job today. This morning I noticed that my team leader was wearing a black shirt. He stopped by my cube and said our manager wanted to see me. On the way to his office, my team leader said he had bad news. I sensed what it meant. Ii’d be terminated.

For two months now, we’ve been training guys in India to do our work. It was a given that I’d lose my job sometime. Even though I knew it was coming, I was still quite surprised and angry. There were three of us in this eventual round of layoffs. Why me? I asked myself. I was a good performer. I delivered my assignments on time even under extreme pressures. With a few exceptions, of course. But if not me, then who? I’d hate any member of the team to lose his or her job.

My manager said the same routine. It had nothing to do with my peformance. The decision came from uptstairs. Nothing personal. Just a way of doing business. Blah. Blah. Blah.

I remember my friend’s reaction when she was diagnosed with leukemia. She was having a great career. At first, She was mad. She felt that she didn’t deserve it. She tried to fight the disease with the same intensity and energy that she used in her career. When she finally realized that all was lost, she learned to accept her fate. It was time to move on. She died peacefully.

I love this team. To belong and realize that you don’t belong anymore makes me really sad. It feels like dying, but I know I can’t dwell on it. Like my dying friend, I must learn to accept my fate. Hopefully, there will be better opportunities somewhere.

Entry filed under: Blogroll, daily prompt.

silence was golden at the oscars Social Insecurity

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. earnestlydebra  |  January 19, 2017 at 7:07 pm

    i wish you the very best – thinking of the big life change that comes with changing employment. I pray for something better. It does feel like a betrayal and a loss – somehow a personal reflection, even when it wasn’t about that at all. Wishing you an AWESOME breakthrough in 2017 – that makes you glad it started early.

    Reply
    • 2. plaridel  |  January 19, 2017 at 7:18 pm

      debra:

      thank you. i did find a better job. 🙂

      Reply
      • 3. earnestlydebra  |  January 20, 2017 at 3:53 am

        AWESOME – finding a job can be the hardest job of all. I hope it blesses you beyond your expectation. in lak’ech, Debra

        Reply
        • 4. plaridel  |  January 20, 2017 at 9:48 am

          debra:

          i guess i got lucky. thank you.

          Reply
          • 5. earnestlydebra  |  January 20, 2017 at 10:31 am

            Not luck, but evidence that they were fools to let you go.

            Reply
            • 6. plaridel  |  January 20, 2017 at 7:26 pm

              debra:

              ha ha. very tempting to call them that, but i’d rather take the high road. 🙂

              Reply
  • 8. TraceyDelaplainMD.com  |  January 20, 2017 at 6:00 am

    Oh no. I was hoping this was fiction when I started to read. I’m sorry and I think it’s perfectly normal to have all of these emotions. I’m sending you a virtual hug,
    Tracey

    Reply
    • 9. plaridel  |  January 20, 2017 at 9:50 am

      tracey:

      it happened a while back. i found a much better job ever since. thank you.

      Reply
  • 10. Ann GrubbsnCritters  |  January 21, 2017 at 10:11 am

    Oh Noooo! I’m so so sorry to hear that Plaridel. That’s terrible. 😦
    Saw from the comments below you found something. Tgat was really quick!! And congratulations! When one door closes, there arw plenty that woukd ve open! 🙂

    Reply
    • 11. plaridel  |  January 22, 2017 at 1:41 pm

      ann:

      i appreciate your concern. thank you.

      Reply
      • 12. Ann GrubbsnCritters  |  January 23, 2017 at 12:17 pm

        😀 Hope your new job is treating you very well!

        Reply
        • 13. plaridel  |  January 24, 2017 at 9:17 am

          ann:

          you bet. 🙂

          Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


From The Book Thief

i have hated the words and i have loved them, and i hope i have made them right.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,764 other followers

Right Brain vs. Left Brain Test

In My Community

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 96,013 hits
Flag Counter

