A Letter to My Sneakers

October 8, 2012 at 5:48 pm 22 comments

Being attached to something is in our genes. It’s part of being human. It could be favorite toys of childhood. It could be pictures and letters from our first love. It could be familiar haunts that bring back memories of days long gone. In other words, it could be anything that has given us an emotional connection.


Dear One:

In the early morning light, I find you waiting for me like a faithful dog by the heater vent in the kitchen. I left you there last night to dry.

I feel a little guilty taking you for a walk to get the Sunday paper yesterday. It was cold and chilly and the pavements were wet with rain. Because of your age, I should’ve been more considerate. But then, you’re my favorite companion. We’re bosom buddies. We’ve been through a lot together.

I still remember when I first laid eyes on you. It was at the Big 5 Sporting Goods, right? They were having a President’s Day sale and you were there sitting by the sales bin alongside your siblings. The sign said 20% off. It was such a good deal that I had to grab you before anybody could get a hand on you. When I tried you on, I was thrilled. It was a good fit. My feet felt at home right away.

The day after I took you home, I put you on with pride. You were so white and immaculate with blue stripes that girls didn’t fail to notice you. By the way, what’s with girls looking at a guy’s shoes first, before they notice anything else about him? But I digress.

Anyway, we took the subway to San Francisco and went to Chinatown to have my favorite hot noodle soup. It was sunny and bright when we left the house. The weatherman said no rain or showers in sight. But I shouldn’t have relied on his word. It did rain as we walked to the restaurant and you got wet and dirty in the process. I was really mad at myself at that time. Because of my silly craving for noodle soup, you lost your virginity just like that. You know, it’s meant to be for something special. Like what? Well, er, come to think of it, I don’t really know.

When we arrived home that day, I made sure I gave you a good scrubbing. First, I took your laces and inserts out, and then used a brush and liquid soap to remove the dirt and grime from the outside. I found the laces needed some cleaning, too, but not the insides which remained clean and dry through the whole ordeal. My feet could only thank you for that.

I relish every moment I’ve had with you and tried to take care of you for as long as I could. I’m sure you’ve outlived your siblings. But no matter how we try to delay it, the end is bound to come. That’s our fate and our destiny. Measured in sneaker years, you’re past retirement age. I know you want to keep on going for my sake. But look at you. your body is worn out and your soles are about to give up. I noticed it when water crept into my socks during our walk yesterday. I don’t think I can you let you take any more punishment. It’ll bleed me to death.

It’s been a long ride. We’ve been a great team. We’ve taken on the world. We’ve hiked together. We’ve played basketball together. We’ve done volunteer work together. We’ve partied and got drunk together.

I know you’re tired and looking forward to a long rest. If there’s any consolation it’s the fact that someday it’ll be my turn, too. Like you, I haven’t been designed to live indefinitely.

I thought of burying you and then decided at the last minute to put you in the recycle bin instead. I wonder what you’ll be in your next life. You’ve served your master well, although i’d never consider you my slave. Will you be another pair of sneakers? Will you become part of a race car? Or maybe you’ll be an archaeological artifact to be discovered a thousand years from now. That’ll be cool, I guess. But whatever it’ll be, I’m sure it’ll be for the best.

Entry filed under: Blogroll, daily prompt. Tags: , , , .

weekly photo challenge: happy the girl with the big heart

22 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dianewrites  |  October 8, 2012 at 11:49 pm

    Most people also say that our things belong to us. I however believe that sometimes, it’s the other way around.

    Your story made me remember my old Nike sneakers back in college. They shared the same fate πŸ™‚ More than the happy memories, my first pair of Nike reminded me of the amount prudence and sacrifice I can endure.

    Reply
    • 2. plaridel  |  October 9, 2012 at 12:11 pm

      diane:

      it’s so true. our “things” have a way of growing on their own. if we’re not careful, they will consume us.

      Reply
  • 3. Jofelyn M. Khapra  |  October 9, 2012 at 12:06 am

    Cant help commenting before reading on… The woman maybe judging a man’s character by the shoes he wear… πŸ˜€

    Reply
    • 4. plaridel  |  October 9, 2012 at 12:12 pm

      jofelyn:

      that really makes me wonder. as for men, when we look at a woman, we tend to gravitate on something else. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  • 5. Jofelyn M. Khapra  |  October 9, 2012 at 12:09 am

    Made smile. So warmly written. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • 6. plaridel  |  October 9, 2012 at 12:12 pm

      jofelyn:

      coming from you, i take it as a compliment.

      Reply
  • 7. kellikillion  |  October 9, 2012 at 5:35 am

    Love this!

    Reply
    • 8. plaridel  |  October 9, 2012 at 12:13 pm

      kelli:

      thanks for your comment. it’s worth the effort after all. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  • 9. webseite  |  October 9, 2012 at 11:11 am

    webseite…

    […]here are some hyperlinks to web-sites that we link to simply because we feel they may be worth visiting[…]…

    Reply
  • 10. AC  |  October 10, 2012 at 5:50 am

    It’s an old post, right? πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • 11. plaridel  |  October 10, 2012 at 10:22 am

      ac:

      it is.

      Reply
  • 12. atrm61  |  December 14, 2013 at 12:59 pm

    A great read and I really died laughing at the part with noodle soup and the shoes losing its virginity πŸ˜€ Loved the voice in here and the parallels you drew πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • 13. plaridel  |  December 14, 2013 at 3:11 pm

      atreyee:

      i’m glad you liked it. πŸ™‚

      Reply
      • 14. atrm61  |  December 17, 2013 at 1:00 am

        πŸ™‚

        Reply
  • 15. fantasticbetty2014  |  January 12, 2015 at 6:10 pm

    Hey, what a creative response to this prompt – enjoyed reading!!!

    Reply
    • 16. plaridel  |  January 12, 2015 at 9:17 pm

      betty:

      thanks for the feedback. you made my day. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  • 17. Priceless Joy  |  January 12, 2015 at 6:12 pm

    πŸ˜€ Poor ol’ guy

    Reply
    • 18. plaridel  |  January 12, 2015 at 9:25 pm

      priceless joy:

      please pass the tissue…

      Reply
      • 19. Priceless Joy  |  January 12, 2015 at 9:30 pm

        Yes, I will. Here’s the tissue. That was a beautiful eulogy of your friend. πŸ˜€

        Reply
  • […] Each Other – Sydney David 172. another quiet muse – Companion… Your Name is Hope 173. Musings of a Random Mind – a letter to my sneakers 174. The Eye of a Thieving Magpie – The Uncommon, Common Loon. 175. Anton’s Ideas […]

    Reply
  • 21. Alicia Jamtaas  |  April 21, 2017 at 1:50 pm

    Measured in sneaker years” –
    What a great thought. And your “sneaker tale” does fit with my FF story this week. Sometimes shoes might just be kept a wee bit longer than they should be. Kudos

    Reply
    • 22. plaridel  |  April 21, 2017 at 5:12 pm

      alicia:

      i’m glad you liked it. πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


From The Book Thief

i have hated the words and i have loved them, and i hope i have made them right.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,747 other followers

Right Brain vs. Left Brain Test

In My Community

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 94,782 hits
Flag Counter

