Weekly Photo Challenge: Green

November 16, 2012 at 3:47 pm 11 comments

Exotic Fruit Exotic Fruit
Pejibayes Papayas
Exotic Fruit Exotic Fruit
Biribas Guavas
Exotic Fruit Exotic Fruit
Mangoes Mangoes
Exotic Fruit Exotic Fruit
Carambolas Watermelons

Click any picture to enlarge
 
The above photos of exotic fruits were taken at a local market in Costa Rica.

Whenever I travel, I make it a point to visit the neighborhood market away from the usual tourist spots. It offers a glimpse of local life as you see people meet and shop for their food and everyday needs. As I roam around the place, I always find some great photo opportunities here and there, but I tend not to be trigger happy and take a shot of everything that moves. It feels like intruding into people’s privacy. Besides, doesn’t taking pictures get in the way of enjoying the moment? Darn, I won’t be able to make a living as a paparazzi.

To a capable photographer, local produce and other inanimate objects can breathe life and tell stories. I guess I’m not there yet. I still have a lot to learn. You can consider me green (pardon the pun) in that regard.

Entry filed under: Blogroll, weekly photo challenge. Tags: , , , , , .

The Good Life happy holidays to all

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. pouringmyartout  |  November 16, 2012 at 3:52 pm

    Funny how the word ‘exotic’ always spices a topic up… except when they say exotic dancers instead of strippers…

    Reply
    • 2. plaridel  |  November 16, 2012 at 7:59 pm

      pouringmyartout:

      come to think of it, why did i choose exotic as opposed to tropical?
      it must be my mind playing tricks on me. 🙂

      Reply
      • 3. pouringmyartout  |  November 16, 2012 at 10:19 pm

        It is a good word. It sort of defines itself.

        Reply
        • 4. plaridel  |  November 17, 2012 at 9:13 am

          pouringmyartout:

          totally agree.

          Reply
          • 5. pouringmyartout  |  November 17, 2012 at 10:24 am

            But let’s not overuse its awesome power.

            Reply
  • 6. skippyheart  |  November 16, 2012 at 5:45 pm

    Yum, green sweetness overload… 🙂

    I am way, way far from being a photographer. I take photos more for using them as a concept tool when telling a story on my blog postings…a more visual way at that…

    Reply
    • 7. plaridel  |  November 16, 2012 at 8:00 pm

      skip:

      if you’re not a photographer, you’re an artist.

      Reply
  • 8. LJ  |  November 19, 2012 at 3:42 am

    Hello Plaridel ! I’m passing you the Liebster Award!
    Do check it out in this link!http://rememberseptember2.blogspot.com/2012/11/liebster-award-my-first-award.html
    thank you!

    Reply
    • 9. plaridel  |  November 19, 2012 at 2:46 pm

      lj:

      i’ll check it out. thanks.

      Reply
  • 10. dianewrites  |  November 23, 2012 at 8:19 am

    Watermelons!!! Are they?

    I share the same views with “taking pictures” Ah, you know how Filipinos are addicted to Facebook that everything needs to be documented and uploaded. In my recent trip abroad, I find it irritating how some companions spent like an eternity of 30 mins in Disneyland’s arch and I was like FINE 🙂

    Reply
    • 11. plaridel  |  November 25, 2012 at 12:07 pm

      diane:

      i take issue only of tourists who think they’re entitled to take pictures of everything they see on their viewfinders. on occasion, i feel it’s common courtesy to ask for permission first.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


From The Book Thief

i have hated the words and i have loved them, and i hope i have made them right.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,767 other followers

Right Brain vs. Left Brain Test

In My Community

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 96,301 hits
Flag Counter

