Remembering Nana Talia

December 30, 2012 at 9:53 am 5 comments


 
Only when we see ourselves in our true human context, as members of a race which is intended to be one organism and ‘one body,’ will we begin to understand the positive importance not only of the successes but of the failures and accidents in our lives. My successes are not my own. The way to them was prepared by others. The fruit of my labors is not my own: for I am preparing the way for the achievements of another. Nor are my failures my own. They may spring from failure of another, but they are also compensated for by another’s achievement. Therefore the meaning of my life is not to be looked for merely in the sum total of my own achievements. It is seen only in the complete integration of my achievements and failures with the achievements and failures of my own generation, and society, and time.

Thomas Merton – No Man is an Island

I find my thoughts going back to my earliest memories. This time, it was with my babysitter. Her name was Nana Talia. She was hired by my maternal grandparents to take care of me. At that time, my mother had just given birth to my sister and she had a hard time during the delivery.

I must be about 3 years old when we went down to the river. It was a bright and sunny day. Nana Talia took me across to her house in a small banca, a traditional form of water transport in the Philippines. I still remember dipping my small fingers in the water while she was holding me on the way to the other side. It was my first time on the river and I must have enjoyed it so much that the experience stayed with me throughout the years.

Nana Talia babysat me for just a few months. I don’t have a picture of her. Although I can vaguely visualize her features in my mind, I can’t remember her face. but even then I can still feel her love. It’s like a mist that has enveloped me and become a part of my being.

I haven’t seen Nana talia since then. Fast forward many years. She came to visit my aunt with her young daughter. When she asked about me, my aunt told her that I had graduated from college. She was very pleased. She told my aunt that she had also babysat one who became a lawyer and another who became a doctor. Taking good care of us when we were young made her feel accomplished and very proud.

I think when somebody has been good to us, we remain connected to that person even when we have moved on. Since that first trip on the river, I’ve crossed many rivers. and with each crossing, I’ve felt Nana Talia’s steady hands holding me.

Entry filed under: Blogroll, daily prompt. Tags: , , , , , .

carpe diem: the last of winter happy new year to all

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. AC  |  December 30, 2012 at 6:40 pm

    Awwwww. I’m sure she’s very proud of you.

    I was also about to write an entry about my former yaya in Manila who came to celebrate Christmas with me here in SG. She’s now based in KL.

    PS: I watched Les Miserables and you’re right, I should have brought a box of Kleenex with me. I only had a small pack with a few sheets of tissue.

    Reply
    • 2. plaridel  |  January 1, 2013 at 2:30 pm

      ac:

      i told you so. i wasn’t exaggerating about the kleenex thing. just kidding. 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. The River’s Heart Is Cold « My Blog  |  January 1, 2013 at 3:35 pm

    […] remembering nana talia (plaridel.wordpress.com) […]

    Reply
  • 4. dianewrites  |  January 2, 2013 at 6:06 am

    Your Nana Talia is surely proud of you. I always believe that it’s not always the length of time that matters. You were with her for a few months, but look at the memories she gave you.

    Reply
    • 5. plaridel  |  January 3, 2013 at 2:45 pm

      diane:

      she was one of a kind.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


From The Book Thief

i have hated the words and i have loved them, and i hope i have made them right.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,747 other followers

Right Brain vs. Left Brain Test

In My Community

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 94,782 hits
Flag Counter

