thanks, but no thanks

January 7, 2013 at 9:13 am 9 comments


charles schulz -charlie brown

i’m sure glad the holiday gift-giving season is over. while it’s been good for business and it has helped the stores to stay afloat during this hard economic times, it has sank men into the throes of despair.

you see, if there’s something that gives a man the chills, it’s the idea of buying a present for a woman. it’s becoming to be an almost impossible task. it seems that whatever he gives her would end up in disappointment.

in the time of our fathers, giving a woman jewelry was a sure winner, but not in this time and age.

he buys her jewelry and it’s either too cheap or too expensive, it’s either too simple or too fancy and too elaborate, or the chain too thin or too bulky for her neck. he simply can’t win.

he buys her something personal and intimate and what comments do you think he’d get? “you know, i can buy this for myself”, “did you buy this for my mom?”, or “am i getting fat?”

it’s a sad fact of life that women tend to read between the lines even when there’s nothing between the lines. you call that women’s intuition.

how about a gift card from her favorite shop? you may think he can’t be wrong with that, but i’m afraid it won’t do either. he’d likely be chastised for his lack of effort and creativity.

although experience tells men not to buy anything for womankind, they never learn. they’ll keep on making the same mistakes in their attempt to please them. why? well, folks, it’s simply because they can’t live without them.

Entry filed under: Blogroll, commentary, humor, women. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Happy New Year To All weekly photo challenge: illumination

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. rebecca2000  |  January 7, 2013 at 11:40 am

    Naaa. My favorite gifts are the ones with thought or things I asked for. The best gift my husband gave me was a flat iron. Yep, a hair product. I had told him one day that she had used this iron thing and I really liked how it made my hair look. I wish I knew where to get one. He looked up my hairdresser and drove the 30 minutes and got me the iron without me asking for it.

    Reply
    • 2. plaridel  |  January 7, 2013 at 12:41 pm

      rebecca:

      there’s one lucky husband. 🙂

      Reply
  • 4. Abby  |  January 7, 2013 at 11:30 pm

    It is the thought that counts. The perfect gift is something that makes the girl feel special. 😉

    Reply
    • 5. plaridel  |  January 9, 2013 at 10:48 pm

      abby:

      well, you’ve got a point there. 🙂

      Reply
  • 6. dianewrites  |  January 8, 2013 at 3:13 am

    On the contrary, I always find it difficult to think of a gift that would satisfy a member of the male populace. So as you said, I always end up being uncreative. I always resort to gift cards. It spares me from the burden of creativity and buying unwanted gifts, since I pass the burden of buying to the receiver. 😀

    But I super agree with your last sentence. I guess despite of everything, it flatters the female populace. Haha

    Reply
    • 7. plaridel  |  January 9, 2013 at 10:52 pm

      diane:

      what can I say, it’s a woman’s world after all. 🙂

      Reply
  • 8. AC  |  January 12, 2013 at 5:19 am

    I’m easy to please. So long as it’s neither a photo album or a picture frame.. I’m cool with any gift. Hahahahaha. 😀

    Kidding aside, I get so kilig if a guy does “research” or exerts effort in finding out what: (1) I need the most; (2) items that I can use in my hobby/interest/line of work; (3) I love to collect.

    But up to this day I prefer a personalized gift.. Kahit card lang yan. Basta may effort. Kase ganun din ako, I ‘create’ my gifts for special people especially bf and bffs. 😀

    Nonetheless, as the saying goes, “it’s the thought that counts”.

    Reply
    • 9. plaridel  |  January 12, 2013 at 9:31 am

      ac:

      I like the personalized stuff myself. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


From The Book Thief

i have hated the words and i have loved them, and i hope i have made them right.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,514 other subscribers

Right Brain vs. Left Brain Test

In My Community

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 168,117 hits
Flag Counter