I Don’t Think I’m Funny

August 26, 2013 at 12:13 pm 9 comments


Don Knotts
 
I don’t think I’m funny, but I try to be one. Funny, ha-ha.

Don Knotts is one of my favorite funny men. I keep a collection of his movies. He joins a short list that includes John Candy, Adam Sadler, Chevy Chase, Andy Griffith, and Mel Brooks.

I love his self-deprecating humor. You know it was contrived but he was so talented that you’d fall for it anyway.

Here are some tidbits I gathered about him:

He became famous by playing the role of the bumbling deputy Barney Fife on the Andy Griffith show.

As the bug-eyed deputy to Griffith, he carried in his shirt pocket the one bullet he was allowed after shooting himself in the foot. Ain’t that description enough to make you laugh?

Knotts, whose shy, soft-spoken manner was unlike the high-strung character Fife. He said he was most proud of that character and didn’t mind being remembered that way.

In 1998 when it was announced that somebody with Jim Carrey’s caliber would do a remake of one of his movies, he was flattered. But if somebody else do a Barney Fife, he added, that would be entirely different.

“Don was a small man… but everything else about him was large: his mind, his expressions,” Andy Griffith said. “Don was special. There’s nobody like him.”

In a tribute to her late husband, Francey Yarborough, said, “he saw poignancy in people’s pride and pain, and he turned it into something endearing and hilarious.”

The world certainly laughed at Knotts, but it also laughed with him.

Don Knotts died of lung cancer in 2006 at the age of 81. I miss him.

Entry filed under: Blogroll, daily prompt. Tags: , , .

mad as hell weekly photo challenge: sea

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. krn  |  August 28, 2013 at 2:59 am

    I think I like him.

    Reply
    • 2. plaridel  |  August 28, 2013 at 1:15 pm

      krn:

      the reluctant astronaut is one of his movies. you can watch it on youtube. 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Cara J. Roach  |  August 28, 2013 at 10:29 pm

    February 26, 2006 – Msg 460: Mr. knotts I have laughed at everything you have done. You was missed as soon as you left. May you R.I.P. and may GOD BLESS you funny man. Pete Gantt White House Tn.

    Reply
  • 4. seeker  |  August 30, 2013 at 7:55 pm

    If you can be Don, then you are funny.

    Reply
    • 5. plaridel  |  August 30, 2013 at 9:26 pm

      seeker:

      i’m afraid there would only be one don.

      Reply
  • 6. AC  |  September 4, 2013 at 6:24 am

    My favorite would be Adam Sandler. He’s my #1 crush. Hahah.

    Anyway, you are funny. Seriously funny. 😀 I like how your imagination works, how you put it in writing and make every post mind-boggling and funny at the same time. Not everyone would understand your jokes but I assure you, I’m one of those who get your humor. 😀

    Reply
    • 7. plaridel  |  September 4, 2013 at 1:51 pm

      ac:

      i can assure you thst you’re one of the very few. 🙂

      Reply
  • 8. Bumble When You Work – TyroCharm  |  July 13, 2017 at 12:13 pm

    […] Shantaram Tourism – Don’t hold your breath Indira’s Blog Bumble- The Daily Post Musings of a Random Mind I Don’t Think I’m Funny Self Evolve How to breathe while running Heaven’s Sunshine A Bumblebee and a Coneflower […]

    Reply
    • 9. plaridel  |  July 13, 2017 at 8:28 pm

      thank you for the pingback! much appreciated.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


From The Book Thief

i have hated the words and i have loved them, and i hope i have made them right.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,796 other followers

Right Brain vs. Left Brain Test

In My Community

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 99,960 hits
Flag Counter

