A Class Act

October 16, 2013 at 6:46 pm

 
I was at the entrance of the Bart subway station waiting for my lunch date. She was already 30 minutes late and she wasn’t answering her phone. I was starting to get worried. To while my time, I went to the ticket vending machine and looked on the subway map.

As I walked away from the vending machine, a woman in her early 20s approached me flashing a $20 bill. She asked me if I needed money for a ticket. She must be a student from the nearby university.

It caught me completely by surprise. I wondered what she saw in me to deserve such generosity. I’m definitely not gorgeous. I’m as plain as a guy can be. Could it be my clothes? Did they make me appear as a homeless person? Or could it be the anxious look on my face mistaken for desperation of not being able to afford the fare?

I told her I was grateful for her generosity. But no, I didn’t need a ticket. I was at the station to meet someone.

Oh, she smiled at me and put the money back in her coat pocket. Have a good day, she said, as she breezed through the gate to catch her ride.

What a class act. A simple gesture like this has kept my faith in humanity.

Entry filed under: Blogroll. Tags: , , , .

wordless wednesday: a food court in sofia, bulgaria persimmons, anyone?


From The Book Thief

i have hated the words and i have loved them, and i hope i have made them right.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,724 other followers

Right Brain vs. Left Brain Test

In My Community

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 93,004 hits
Flag Counter

