In Memoriam

October 27, 2013 at 8:19 am 15 comments


in memoriam

 
This month marks the fifth anniversary of my cousin’s death. She was the daughter of my father’s elder sister. On October 27, 2008, she succumbed to a virus infection that ravaged her body weakened by leukemia and chemotherapy.

On the night she passed away, friends and relatives came over to visit her at the hospital as usual. They said their good-bye for the night, hoping against hope they could see her again for another day. But as the last one said good-bye, she also said her good-bye to this world.

Hours before, her sisters whispered to her, it was ok to let go. Her bodily functions had started to falter. Antibiotics had been unable to stop the spread of infection all over her body. This led her brother to order the nurse to start removing the tubes that no longer served their purpose to ease her sufferings.

She never regained consciousness after she was brought to the intensive care unit. When she was told that so-and-so was there, however, she would slightly open her eyes on occasion as if to acknowledge his or her presence.

She was my first cousin and best friend. She was kind and generous. She was always willing to help a friend or relative in need. She got me an immigrant’s affidavit of support. Without it, I’d not be able to come to America.

I miss our phone conversations. When I dial her old number, I know she won’t be around to take it anymore. I miss her voice and her unique laughter. They’re forever stilled as the voices and laughters of my departed grandparents, father, uncles, and aunts. But in my heart, they’ll always remain.

It seems just like yesterday when I immigrated to America from the Philippines to start a new life. I still remember when she picked me up at the JFK International Airport on a cold and wintry-like evening. Always thoughtful, she brought along a coat that she borrowed to keep me warm on the way back to her apartment in Brooklyn.

Right after I received the message of her death, I immediately booked a flight to New York to attend her funeral. As it was many years ago, I arrived at the same airport on a cold and wintry-like evening. This time, however, I made sure I came prepared with a coat of my own. I knew she wouldn’t be there to pick me up. She was gone to heaven.

Entry filed under: Blogroll, personal. Tags: , , , , .

the old keyboard To Quit or Not to Quit Blogging

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Seyi sandra  |  October 27, 2013 at 11:26 am

    I’m so sorry, she’s at peace now…

    Reply
    • 2. plaridel  |  October 27, 2013 at 3:30 pm

      seyi:

      she was one of a kind. thank you.

      Reply
  • 3. dianewrites  |  October 28, 2013 at 5:51 am

    I suddenly remembered my best friend who passed two years ago. Cliche as it may sound, she’s in a better place now. She is happy with your humbled accomplishments too.

    Reply
    • 4. plaridel  |  October 28, 2013 at 3:56 pm

      diane:

      she lived a good life. incidentally, her roommate died of the same disease a few years before her. sometimes i wonder if it had to do with the environment they lived in.

      Reply
  • 5. Madhu  |  October 29, 2013 at 9:52 am

    So sorry for your loss Paridel. My heartfelt sympathies to you and the rest of her family.

    Reply
    • 6. plaridel  |  October 29, 2013 at 3:56 pm

      madhu:

      thank you. she will remain in our thoughts.

      Reply
  • 7. lifeconfusions  |  November 3, 2013 at 8:54 am

    May her beautiful soul rest in peace. May God give you guys strength to cope with the loss. My thoughts and prayers go out to you guys.

    Reply
    • 8. plaridel  |  November 3, 2013 at 11:40 am

      lifeconfusions:

      thank you for the kind thoughts.

      Reply
  • 9. seeker  |  November 3, 2013 at 11:12 pm

    I’m sorry.

    Reply
    • 10. plaridel  |  November 4, 2013 at 12:11 pm

      seeker:

      if anything, she’s in a better situation now.

      Reply
  • 11. yuhublogger  |  January 3, 2017 at 10:00 am

    Well written. A heart touching story. I loved the line-“But in my heart, they’ll always remain”. I believe that they do.

    Reply
    • 12. plaridel  |  January 3, 2017 at 4:38 pm

      yuhublogger:

      thank you. your comment is much appreciated.

      Reply
  • 14. susurrus  |  January 3, 2017 at 10:20 am

    I’m sorry for your loss but feel sure she’d have loved this tribute to her. It brought a tear to my eyes.

    Reply
    • 15. plaridel  |  January 3, 2017 at 4:38 pm

      susan:

      thank you. i deeply appreciate your comment.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


From The Book Thief

i have hated the words and i have loved them, and i hope i have made them right.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,713 other followers

Right Brain vs. Left Brain Test

In My Community

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 91,436 hits
Flag Counter

