Telemarketing Hang-ups

December 2, 2013 at 6:17 pm 8 comments

Charlie Brown – Charles Schulz
 
This is the time of the year when the feeling is great. If only for a few weeks, you allow your guard down and throw your caution to the winds, imbued with the spirit of peace, generosity, and goodwill towards your fellowmen.

It’s in this vulnerable state that savvy telemarketers and solicitors from various charities know you’ll be an easy target for their sales pitch. As a result, they make sure you get all the calls they think you deserve.

It was early morning when the phone rang. It made me nervous. When I got a call this early before, it was from my sister in the Philippines who told me that dad was rushed to the hospital in serious condition. This time, however, it was from a telemarketer offering a long distance plan.

“Are you a Filipino?” the friendly voice on the line asked.

“Yes,” I answered groggily, feeling relieved and annoyed at the same time. “Do you know what time it is? It’s 5:00 am.”

“Oh, I’m sorry. but we have this great promotion that can’t wait. Now you can call the Philippines for only 12 cents per minute. What’s more, for a limited time, you can try our service risk-free. We’re offering you 20 free minutes.”

“I’m not interested,” I mumbled.

“Why not? Don’t you want the 20 free minutes?”

“I have my reasons.”

“But…”

I hung up the phone and went back to bed.

How did I get this call? It must have originated in Manila. In the u.s, the law prohibits telephone solicitations before 8 am and after 9 pm.

The other day, I was sitting on the john when the landline phone rang. I had to wipe my butt quickly and ran to the phone, almost tripping in my unzipped pants in the process. When I lifted the receiver panting, all I heard was a click and nothing more. Good grief! It must be from a telemarketer’s predictive dialer. Since I wasn’t quick enough, the call was considered ‘abandoned’ and it wasn’t transferred to a live sales agent.

But still the damage was done. When I stumbled back into the bathroom, I was unable to resume the peace and quiet that I was enjoying before. Worst of all, nothing would come out anymore no matter how I tried. It had to wait another day.

It seems nowadays everybody wants your money whether you can afford it or not. To their credit, some charities are willing to charge your donation to your credit card. They will even allow you to pay it on installments if you wish. Every possible accommodation will be done to compensate for your generosity.

Of course, you have the right to say ‘no’ or make excuses like ‘I’m having dinner. please call some other time.’ But honestly, when somebody from the Sheriff organization calls, what are your odds? How many times can you refuse before they finally exhaust your resistance from their incessant pleadings? Trained in psychology, they know it’s just a matter of time. So, why not give in right off the bat and save everybody trouble?

I understand that times are hard. It’s getting more and more difficult to get a buck. But does anybody have any idea how I can get rid of these enterprising folks and enable me to enjoy the rest of the holidays ‘risk-free’ as some of them would put it?

Entry filed under: Blogroll, daily prompt. Tags: , , , , .

weekly photo challenge: let there be light! wordless wednesday: more than words

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. B Gourley  |  December 2, 2013 at 6:26 pm

    They’re desperate. A little thing called Skype is in the process of putting them out of business.
    When I lived in the US I was on the “No-call” list, which meant I only got calls from charities, political parties, and businesses I’d done business with. It was still too much.
    Fortunately, my borderline sociopathy makes hanging up guilt-free for me.

    Reply
    • 2. plaridel  |  December 2, 2013 at 8:16 pm

      Bernie:

      i have a gadget now that answers for me. when a solicitor calls, i just press the button and it takes over sending a pre-recorded message telling the caller that my number doesn’t accept that kind of call and to please remove the number from their list. works great!

      Reply
  • 3. Michael Bian  |  December 7, 2013 at 5:38 am

    Telemarketing nowadays was rapidly growing…

    Reply
    • 4. plaridel  |  December 7, 2013 at 9:24 am

      michael:

      totally agree, especially during the holidays.

      Reply
  • 5. calipatti  |  December 19, 2013 at 11:48 pm

    I never answer my phone any more. I call people back when the time is good for me. It’s selfish but it’s the course I take.

    Reply
    • 6. plaridel  |  December 20, 2013 at 9:47 am

      calipatti:

      i hear ya. it’s a good strategy especially during the holidays.

      Reply
  • 7. Michael Bian  |  January 14, 2014 at 3:23 am

    Great article…

    Reply
    • 8. plaridel  |  January 14, 2014 at 9:30 am

      michael:

      thank you for reading. glad you liked it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


From The Book Thief

i have hated the words and i have loved them, and i hope i have made them right.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,767 other followers

Right Brain vs. Left Brain Test

In My Community

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 96,200 hits
Flag Counter

