It’s Days Before Christmas

December 23, 2013 at 12:32 pm 13 comments


Snoopy – Charles Schulz

It’s almost Christmas. I know it is, judging from the number of e-mails I get from stores getting desperate with their last minute offerings including a Rolex look-alike. Another watch? Thanks, but, no thanks. I’ve already got a Casio watch that serves me well.

As in the years past, I’m happy that I’m done sending all the obligatory Christmas cards today. This time, however, I didn’t enclose the usual holiday letter. You know, the kind where people write about how wonderful the year has been for them, full of achievements and memorable events. I think I have a few of my own to declare, but at the last minute, I decided to keep them to myself for fear of boring would-be recipients with the details.

The holiday season is supposed to be a time for relaxation, but it doesn’t live up to the expectation. In our desire to top each other on gift giving and entertaining, we stress ourselves to death. For instance, driving these days has become very dangerous. Yhere are just too many cars out on the streets driven by shoppers going from malls to malls eager to beat the deadline. Why do they have to wait until the last minute? Look what they have done to the traffic lights. As you approach them, they have been turning red all the time, slowing down the flow of traffic.

As for me, most of the shopping are done. Finally, I can relax and leave home without the Visa card. Just one problem. I haven’t bought something for myself yet. I’ve been trying to convince myself there’s no need to rush, that it can wait after the holidays. Well, let’s see how it goes.

Entry filed under: Blogroll, daily prompt. Tags: , , , .

weekly photo challenge: one in memoriam: mark b. salvador aka coolwaterworks

13 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


From The Book Thief

i have hated the words and i have loved them, and i hope i have made them right.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,696 other followers

Right Brain vs. Left Brain Test

In My Community

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 90,134 hits
Flag Counter

