I Made It

January 6, 2014 at 3:46 pm 26 comments


Artwork Credit: WordPress.com

It’s seems like yesterday, but I have this blog for a while. Starting with my first entry on Jan. 1, 2009, I made a goal of posting 365 more. It took five years, but I’m proud to report that I’ve made it. It wouldn’t have been possible without your encouragement and moral support. Thank you very much.

Now I’m faced with the decision on whether to continue maintaining it or to simply pull the plug and fade into obscurity.

Starting a blog can be a humbling experience. You have a lot of expectations. You think of yourself as witty, funny, and wise. It’s only fair to assume that the world would adore your postings, but you’re wrong. After days or weeks of writing your heart out, you discover that hardly anybody pays a visit or a leave a comment on your site.

It’s kind of depressing, but that’s reality check for you. You may be a star in your own right, but you’re only one among the millions of stars in the universe. You won’t be noticed unless you shine like Venus or have a personality like Kim Jong-un of North Korea.

This is one reason why a great number of my contemporary WordPress bloggers in 2009 didn’t last. Failing to get the accolade that they thought they deserved, they disappeared like fireworks soon after they lit the sky with their fiery display.

Others fell on the wayside for other reasons. One reason could be death or health issues. But the most obvious reason could be realizing there was more to life than blogging. They learned to go out more often, have a social life, and make friends with prople that they could really hang out with.

I must confess that I’d been close to retiring this blog a few times in the past, too. I was thinking what was the point when nobody seemed to care about my postings. Thanks to a fellow blogger who suggested that I enable the ‘like’ button on my site. In so doing, it gave me the feedback I needed to keep going: Some folks really liked what I was writing and they still do. I found that becoming part of a group of like-minded people also helped validate my existence. I tell you what, it could be no different from a star joining a constellation when it wasn’t bright enough to shine on its own.

I don’t know what the future holds. As I said, I’ve already achieve my goals for this blog. From here on out, I’d consider it as a bonus.

Entry filed under: Blogroll, daily prompt. Tags: , , .

weekly photo challenge: beginning really, pres. karzai?!

26 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Weekly Writing Challenge – Cliffhanger | Joe's Musings  |  January 6, 2014 at 6:41 pm

    […] i made it | Musings of a Random Mind […]

    Reply
  • 2. seeker  |  January 6, 2014 at 7:23 pm

    hey p. i can empathize with you. congratulations, though. I did the 365 without registering and did it in my own way. no glory from WP but it’s the fun of posting your thoughts.

    Reply
    • 3. plaridel  |  January 6, 2014 at 9:47 pm

      seeker:

      thank you. comparing myself to you, i don’t exist. you’re one such prolific blogger.

      Reply
      • 4. seeker  |  January 6, 2014 at 9:49 pm

        you don’t exist? then how come you made it and I did not. no longer posting daily.

        Reply
        • 5. plaridel  |  January 6, 2014 at 10:03 pm

          seeker:

          it took me 5 long years. at the rate you’re going, you’ll make it far sooner than i did.

          Reply
          • 6. seeker  |  January 6, 2014 at 10:05 pm

            i don’t know if i’ll last 5 years. You did good.

            Reply
            • 7. plaridel  |  January 7, 2014 at 10:05 am

              seeker:

              it’s me who may not last another 5 years, but I have no doubt you will.

              Reply
  • 8. Java Girl  |  January 6, 2014 at 8:14 pm

    I think that’s a great achievement! I’ve only done 338 blogs. I have a while to catch up to you. ๐Ÿ™‚ Congrats and keep doing your thing!

    Reply
    • 9. plaridel  |  January 6, 2014 at 9:53 pm

      java girl:

      thank you. i know you’ll catch up and surpass me. when the time comes, i’ll be there to congratulate you. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
      • 10. Java Girl  |  January 7, 2014 at 6:31 pm

        That’s mighty sweet of you! I will be waiting! ๐Ÿ™‚

        Reply
        • 11. plaridel  |  January 7, 2014 at 11:17 pm

          java girl:

          it’s a deal. ๐Ÿ™‚

          Reply
  • […] i made it | Musings of a Random Mind […]

    Reply
  • 13. Ojhri Camp disaster (Part 1) | A mom's blog  |  January 6, 2014 at 10:54 pm

    […] i made it | Musings of a Random Mind […]

    Reply
  • 14. What Am I? | The Backwords  |  January 7, 2014 at 3:20 am

    […] i made it | Musings of a Random Mind […]

    Reply
  • 15. Amy  |  January 7, 2014 at 6:40 am

    That is a milestone, Plaridel. Congratulations! I always enjoy reading your post and well thought stories and am looking forward to reading more.

    Reply
    • 16. plaridel  |  January 7, 2014 at 10:05 am

      amy:

      thank you for reading. i really appreciate it.

      Reply
  • 17. Imelda  |  January 7, 2014 at 9:03 pm

    And even if nobody gives you applause, there is fulfillment in unleashing creative energy and discovering some more. ๐Ÿ™‚ Good luck and a happy new year to you. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    • 18. plaridel  |  January 7, 2014 at 11:18 pm

      imelda:

      it’s so true. a happy and prosperous new year to you, too.

      Reply
  • 19. Ojhri Camp disaster (Part 2) | A mom's blog  |  January 8, 2014 at 4:26 am

    […] i made it | Musings of a Random Mind […]

    Reply
  • 20. First Blood: The dance-off | ThE cRaZy NiGeRiAn  |  January 11, 2014 at 1:54 am

    […] i made it | Musings of a Random Mind […]

    Reply
  • 21. granonine  |  November 30, 2016 at 10:29 am

    I blog because I like it. It gives me a forum to vent, or create, or be a little humorous. It sharpens my skills. It does provide some feedback, not as much as I’d like, but still. If no one ever left a “like” or a comment, I might not keep it up. I’ve made a few very pleasant friends in cyberspace. All good.

    Reply
    • 22. plaridel  |  November 30, 2016 at 6:23 pm

      linda:

      i share your sentiment. perhaps you should join friday fictioneers. the goal is to write a 100-word fiction based on the picture prompt. it’s fun and you’re a good fit. if interested, the link is https://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/

      Reply
      • 23. granonine  |  November 30, 2016 at 7:18 pm

        I did participate one time. I just don’t think of it until it’s too late in the day ๐Ÿ™‚ Maybe I should put up a post-it note on my computer ๐Ÿ™‚

        Reply
        • 24. plaridel  |  December 1, 2016 at 9:15 am

          linda:

          we’ll be glad to welcome you back. looking forward to your next post.

          Reply
  • 25. True George  |  December 27, 2016 at 12:37 pm

    I’d say enabling the like button and making sure someone could post a comment would help…..

    Reply
    • 26. plaridel  |  December 28, 2016 at 3:44 pm

      true george:

      it’s enabled. thank you.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


From The Book Thief

i have hated the words and i have loved them, and i hope i have made them right.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,713 other followers

Right Brain vs. Left Brain Test

In My Community

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 91,436 hits
Flag Counter

