Dear Emily

August 13, 2014 at 12:35 pm 31 comments

For Friday Fictioneers 100-Word Challenge 15 Aug 2014

Jan Wayne Fields
Photo Credit: Jan Wayne Fields

 
Dear One:

It’s been ten years since you passed away, but the hurt remains. I miss you terribly!

For a time, I consoled myself traveling. But since I had this stroke, I’ve been confined to the guestroom downstairs. I couldn’t even go up to the family library on my own. As per doctor’s order, they say.

At this point in my life, I come to understand what getting old really means: seeing the world narrowing before my eyes and nothing to look forward to except death.

Consider this my last letter to you. I’d be seeing you soon.

Love,
John

 

 

Entry filed under: Blogroll, friday fictioneers. Tags: , , .

wordless wednesday: eco-friendly and proud weekly photo challenge: silhouette

31 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sandra  |  August 13, 2014 at 12:49 pm

    Very sad.

    Reply
    • 2. plaridel  |  August 13, 2014 at 2:30 pm

      sandra:

      just reflected my mood this week. a sad one for a lot of poeple.

      Reply
  • 3. justinaluther  |  August 13, 2014 at 1:02 pm

    This is heartbreaking, and beautifully written.

    Reply
    • 4. plaridel  |  August 13, 2014 at 2:31 pm

      justina:

      thanks for the nice comment. coming from you, it’s a great compliment.

      Reply
      • 5. justinaluther  |  August 13, 2014 at 2:39 pm

        That’s very kind of you to say. (-: Thank you for following my blog. I really appreciate it.

        Reply
  • 6. Björn Rudberg (brudberg)  |  August 13, 2014 at 1:57 pm

    so sad.. when the world narrow.. very apt.. the last sentence give a flash of conciliation at least

    Reply
    • 7. plaridel  |  August 13, 2014 at 2:33 pm

      björn:

      is he planning to take his own life? i’m wondering myself.

      Reply
  • 8. rochellewisoff  |  August 13, 2014 at 1:58 pm

    Dear Plaridel,

    His letter really tugs at the heartstrings. Well done.

    One little note…at the end you have a bit of tense confusion with “I’d be seeing you soon.” Should it read “I’ll be seeing you soon?”

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Reply
    • 9. plaridel  |  August 13, 2014 at 2:37 pm

      rochelle:

      thanks. i stand corrected. just made the change.

      Reply
  • 10. aliciajamtaas  |  August 13, 2014 at 2:03 pm

    As my parents say – Getting old is no fun. Well told.
    (and along the line Rochelle wrote there’s another tense change – I couldn’t even go up to the family perhaps should read I can’t even.)

    Reply
    • 11. plaridel  |  August 13, 2014 at 2:37 pm

      alicia:

      i think i should call you eagle eyes. i stand corrected. just made the change.

      Reply
      • 12. aliciajamtaas  |  August 13, 2014 at 3:36 pm

        No worries. I always appreciate someone pointing that kind of thing out to me.

        Reply
  • 13. Elizabeth  |  August 13, 2014 at 6:53 pm

    This is a sad story!

    Reply
    • 14. plaridel  |  August 13, 2014 at 7:28 pm

      elizabeth:

      thank you for reading and commenting. much appreciated.

      Reply
  • 15. draliman  |  August 14, 2014 at 3:23 am

    Very sad, he’s just waiting to pass on and see his beloved again now.

    Reply
    • 16. plaridel  |  August 14, 2014 at 3:52 pm

      draliman:

      i guess any time now the waiting would be over as the ripened fruit falls to the ground.

      Reply
  • 17. Leigh W. Smith  |  August 14, 2014 at 9:53 am

    Heartfelt and well expressed, Plaridel. As others have noted, the “narrowing” phrasing is quite apt. As to your question in the comments, I feel that the photograph is a second-story room, so it is not the guest room. And, so, I feel like he has dragged himself up there for one last, poignant letter to Emily. I’m not sure if he brings about the end or simply “senses” it coming. My 2 cents’.

    Reply
    • 18. plaridel  |  August 14, 2014 at 4:26 pm

      leigh:

      you were right. it was very perceptive of you. it was partly based on my dad’s story. shortly before he died, i went home to see him. by then, he was already prevented from going upstairs because of his heart condition. it was during that visit that i realized the “narrowing” effect of getting old. emily was fiction and the letter-writing part was fiction, too.

      Reply
      • 19. Leigh W. Smith  |  August 15, 2014 at 6:52 am

        Well, Plaridel, it was a painfully beautiful story and, I think, sparkling tribute to your father. Thank you so much for sharing that with me and your other readers; I know it’s a somber story, but you have brightened my day by sharing it. Knowing the “true” part of the backstory brings the tears, too. My condolences to you on the loss of your father.

        Reply
        • 20. plaridel  |  August 15, 2014 at 11:30 am

          leigh:

          i appreciate the sentiment. thank you.

          Reply
  • 21. The Writer's Village  |  August 14, 2014 at 1:54 pm

    Sad. randy

    Reply
    • 22. plaridel  |  August 14, 2014 at 4:27 pm

      the writer’s village:

      couldn’t have written it any other way.

      Reply
  • 23. rgayer55  |  August 15, 2014 at 3:59 am

    Like you mentioned in one of the comments, we see this happen with our parents and know that ultimately we will succumb to the same fate if we live long enough. Losing one’s independence is sad and makes death appear a welcome option.

    Reply
    • 24. plaridel  |  August 15, 2014 at 11:29 am

      russell:

      well said. thank you for your comment.

      Reply
  • 25. K.Z.  |  August 16, 2014 at 12:23 am

    a sad letter. like what russell said– to lose one’s independence is both depressing and frightening. a very realistic tale.

    Reply
    • 26. plaridel  |  August 16, 2014 at 2:51 pm

      k.z.:

      we’re all getting there sooner or later. we have to enjoy life while we can.

      Reply
  • 27. patriciaruthsusausan  |  August 16, 2014 at 2:35 am

    Plaridel, I was sorry to hear that this was written with your father in mind. My condolences. I think that gradual narrowing prepares us for death. It gives us time to mentally accept it. Well written. —Susan

    Reply
    • 28. plaridel  |  August 16, 2014 at 2:54 pm

      susan:

      well, it’s the circle of life.

      Reply
  • 29. Pratik Kirve  |  August 18, 2014 at 4:19 am

    Great story..!! I enjoyed the feelings..!!

    Reply
  • 30. Nan Falkner  |  August 18, 2014 at 9:19 pm

    Dear Plaridel, Great story! You really are good! Nan 🙂

    Reply
    • 31. plaridel  |  August 18, 2014 at 11:04 pm

      nan:

      thank you. i’m glad you liked it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


From The Book Thief

i have hated the words and i have loved them, and i hope i have made them right.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,794 other followers

Right Brain vs. Left Brain Test

In My Community

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 99,274 hits
Flag Counter

