Happy New Year

January 1, 2015 at 1:59 pm 19 comments

For Posterity

charlie brown

Artwork Credit: Charles M. Schulz
 
It’s been five years to the day when I started writing in this blog. My goal was to write 365 posts representing the number of days in a year and then compile them in a book for my reading pleasure in old age. I’ve exceeded that number last year. In fact, this is my 509th post.

Albert Einstein once said, โ€œPut your hand on a hot stove for a minute, and it seems like an hour. Sit with a pretty girl for an hour, and it seems like a minute.”

It’s funny how time flies when I’m having fun especially when I get kudos for what I’d written. Along the way, I confess I’ve made some boo-boos, too, in my posts and comments left on other blogs that got lost in translation and caused people to get offended. It makes me sad when these stuff happen. Please accept my apologies. It would never be my intention to hurt anyone.

Blogs do come and go. The Internet is littered with orphaned and dead blogs who once shone brightly in the online universe. Truth to tell, I miss some of them dearly. At the same time, I realize that in life nothing lasts forever.

I said it before and I’d say it again, a blogger is as only good as his last post. If he wants to stay relevant, he can’t take a break. He must continue writing because readers have short memories. He must keep feeding them stuff. Once the feeding frenzy stops, they turn their attention somewhere else. In other words, it’s about staying power. Nobody wants to make love to a corpse.

As for this blog, it has a shelf life of its own. I understand the doomsday clock started clicking the moment it was born. The end will come as surely as night follows day. I just don’t know when the expiration date is going to be. But when it does come, I’ll dispose of it quickly leaving no mess behind.

But for now let’s enjoy the start of a new year and the time that we still have. Let’s enjoy every moment while it lasts. Some think that to have a successful blog, you must attract a lot of readers. But it’s not always true. In my case, I have enough to fill my cup. I have you, you, and most especially you. I’m happy with that and I mean it from the bottom of my heart.

Entry filed under: Blogroll, daily prompt. Tags: , , , , .

wordless wednesday: reminiscing about the past weekly photo challenge: new

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Priceless Joy  |  January 1, 2015 at 2:19 pm

    OMGosh I need to write a post like this! ๐Ÿ˜†

    Reply
    • 2. plaridel  |  January 1, 2015 at 3:26 pm

      priceless joy:

      haha! let’s hear it. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  • 3. Suzanne Joshi  |  January 1, 2015 at 9:17 pm

    Good post Plaridel. Happy New Year 2015!

    Reply
    • 4. plaridel  |  January 2, 2015 at 4:16 pm

      suzanne:

      glad you liked it. a happy and a prosperous new year to you, too.

      Reply
  • 5. lifeconfusions  |  January 2, 2015 at 1:11 am

    Well said Plaridel ! Congratulations on completing five years of blogging. Cheers to many more years of blogging, being a part of this community and meeting different people, learning and love! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    • 6. plaridel  |  January 2, 2015 at 4:17 pm

      zee:

      thank you. from now on, i’m taking it one post at a time. wanting me to stay are people like you. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
      • 7. lifeconfusions  |  January 3, 2015 at 8:16 am

        Will always be here to read whatever you have to say ๐Ÿ™‚

        Reply
        • 8. plaridel  |  January 3, 2015 at 2:40 pm

          zee:

          i hope you stay, too. i’ll remain your loyal follower.

          Reply
  • 9. Barbara Franken  |  January 3, 2015 at 12:58 am

    Great post and happy new year, barbara

    Reply
    • 10. plaridel  |  January 3, 2015 at 2:39 pm

      barbara:

      i’m glad you liked it. a happy and a prosperous new year to you, too.

      Reply
  • 11. skippyheart  |  January 4, 2015 at 7:08 pm

    Expiration on this blog of yours should be “to infinity and beyond” ๐Ÿ™‚ Happy New Year, Mr. P! Cheers!

    Reply
    • 12. plaridel  |  January 4, 2015 at 7:30 pm

      skip:

      i’m just being realistic. as hazel grace in the movie, the fault in our stars, said, oblivion’s inevitable. to further paraphrase her, it might be tomorrow. might be a million years from now, but it’s gonna happen. and when it does, enough blogs will come and go, there’ll be no one left to remember me or whatever i have written here. by the way, it’s a great movie. if you haven’t seen it, i highly recommend it.

      Reply
  • 13. passionthroughpoetry  |  January 6, 2015 at 2:29 pm

    Very nice read, sad at then same time, I’ve come to enjoy others blogs and my own as well, it saddens me to think of them all dead and orphaned.

    Reply
    • 14. plaridel  |  January 6, 2015 at 4:42 pm

      vonita:

      i guess the best way to really enjoy something is to realize that it will not last.

      Reply
  • 16. nitinnair  |  January 6, 2015 at 3:59 pm

    Thanks for the pingback! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    • 17. plaridel  |  January 6, 2015 at 4:54 pm

      nitin:

      you’re welcome. interesting blog you have there. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
      • 18. nitinnair  |  January 6, 2015 at 4:55 pm

        Thanks! You too

        Reply
  • […] Passionate Soul – Layout of 2016 240. Vaidus World – Goodbye 2016, Welcome 2017 241. Musings of a Random Mind – Happy New Year 242. 95% resolution are broken before 15 jan. โ€“ dhirajkhursade 243. lifelessons โ€“ a blog by […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


From The Book Thief

i have hated the words and i have loved them, and i hope i have made them right.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,796 other followers

Right Brain vs. Left Brain Test

In My Community

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 99,992 hits
Flag Counter

