Seizing the Moment

March 7, 2015 at 5:57 pm 10 comments

bbb.org

Photo Credit: BBB.org
 
i guess it’s that time of the year again. The tax season is upon us.

Lately someone claiming to be from Internal Revenue Service is leaving messages in my answering machine instructing me to call their office immediately to resolve unpaid taxes or face arrest if I don’t comply.

He sounded authoritative like Jack Nicholson, albeit with an Indian accent. The question is, should I ignore him or not?

I understand there’s nothing more certain than death and taxes. It was Benjamin Franklin who said it, and he proved it himself by dying in old age and paying his taxes during his lifetime. If you don’t believe me that he died, you can visit his grave in Philadelphia.

The death clock starts ticking once we are born and tax collectors are just as bad. They make their presence felt as soon as we start making dough. Do you ever wonder why doughnuts or donuts have holes in them? Conspiracy theorists believe the cut-out pieces are allotted for tax purposes.

It’s no surprise that such inevitability gives us the creeps. Some scheming individuals or companies make it worse by making sure we are aware of it. They exploit our fears by selling products like life insurance, living trust arrangements, funeral plans that are customized to our needs, etc. In the case of tax collectors, they scare us silly, too, by their constant reminders to render unto Ceasar what is due to Caesar or be guilty of tax evasion.

I still have a landline phone. What for? you may ask. Well, I really don’t know. perhaps I just want to hang on to something that soon will just be a memory. It helps that it stays quiet most of the time to keep my sanity. But when it rings, I don’t pick it up. I let the answering machine do it. It suits me fine. People that matter to my life rarely call anymore. It’s so passé. They either ‘text’ or communicate to me through social media.

As a result, when I do get a call, I know it’s almost always coming from a stranger just like this scammer pretending to be from the Internal Revenue Service. I’m not going to waste my time entertaining him. I’d just let him call until he gets hoarse and quits altogether. Besides, the IRS doesn’t initiate contact by phone. It usually corresponds to people first by snail mail when they have tax issues.

If he, or somebody like him calls you, I suggest that you do the same.

Entry filed under: Blogroll, daily prompt. Tags: , , , , .

weekly photo challenge: orange wordless wednesday: ew, that smell! uh-uh, not me!

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mark Aldrich  |  March 7, 2015 at 6:02 pm

    As you point out, the IRS does not make phone calls; if you have not reported it to the Do Not Call registry, please do, if not to spare yourself the harassment, to help out the rest of us. All the best, Mark

    Reply
    • 2. plaridel  |  March 7, 2015 at 7:09 pm

      mark:

      i just did as you have suggested. thank you.

      Reply
  • 3. Teresa  |  March 7, 2015 at 8:03 pm

    We have DNC implemented last year to rid of spammers and scammers. Unfortunately, cheats go global too and find creative ways around this. Elderly folks are at higher risk to phone scams and I read about it in crime news regularly all year 😦

    Reply
    • 4. plaridel  |  March 8, 2015 at 9:41 am

      teresa:

      i just wonder how these people can sleep at night.

      Reply
  • 5. Breath of Freshness  |  March 7, 2015 at 11:24 pm

    i enjoy reading your stories you even make tax sound interesting

    Reply
    • 6. plaridel  |  March 8, 2015 at 9:41 am

      breath of freshness:

      thank you for reading. i deeply appreciate it. 🙂

      Reply
  • 7. Leigh W. Smith  |  March 14, 2015 at 3:42 pm

    What Teresa said^^. I, too, feel badly when the elderly get scammed on these things. I got a call recently about what I think the caller in his script said was “an unfortunate incident” (sounds like a children’s fantasy book) and that I had to call them, otherwise, “I wish you good luck.” Just imagine Mr. Chekhov (from the “old” Star Trek), and that was the voice, so I’m guessing it was a Slavic-speaking native. Good advice here, Plaridel, plus what Mark said as well. I guess you’ve just got to keep reporting these egregious con-artists.

    Reply
    • 8. plaridel  |  March 14, 2015 at 4:05 pm

      leigh:

      i’m confident the long arm of the law will get them sooner or later. a bad deed never goes unpunished.

      Reply
      • 9. Leigh W. Smith  |  March 14, 2015 at 4:17 pm

        I hope you’re right, Plaridel!

        Reply
        • 10. plaridel  |  March 15, 2015 at 12:07 pm

          leigh:

          as the saying goes, hope springs eternal.

          Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


From The Book Thief

i have hated the words and i have loved them, and i hope i have made them right.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,696 other followers

Right Brain vs. Left Brain Test

In My Community

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 90,134 hits
Flag Counter

