Weekly Photo Challenge: State of Mind

February 26, 2016 at 4:19 pm 7 comments

Galapagos Islands
Location: Galapagos Islands, Ecuador

I love taking pictures, but I don’t consider myself a pro. When I travel, I just bring along a pocket camera that won’t make me cry a river when it’s stolen.

But I’m proud to say I’m a little bit higher than a tourist who only takes pictures as proof that he’s been there. For one thing, I don’t take selfies. Hell no, you won’t find me on pictures that I post. It’s to save me from embarrassment. I don’t want Hollywood to come and not offer me a role opposite Emily Blunt (isn’t she lovely and her accent wonderful?) but as an extra in the Night of the Living Dead sequel.

In the company of tourists, I do take the time to breathe in the air and capture the moment as best as I could. I agree that sometimes a scene that we choose to take can have a bearing on what we feel deeply inside just like the above picture taken during a trip to the Galapagos. I hope you also enjoy the accompanying poem that I wrote afterwards.

WHENEVER I DON’T SEE YOU

 
whenever i don’t see you
i see what i can’t see
like the hands of this clock moving
and the day passing at sea

i see the waves turning black
and i can’t wait for morning
for without you, my dear one
the stars have lost their meaning

then the dawn starts breaking
and it doesn’t bring much delight
from where i stand, all i’d be seeing
is day blending into the night

whenever i don’t see you
i see a world fading fast and
no one else can bring its colors back
except you who claimed my heart

 

Related articles
Entry filed under: Blogroll, weekly photo challenge. Tags: , , , , , .

The Old Clunker Wordless Wednesday: Two Women in the Park

7 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


From The Book Thief

i have hated the words and i have loved them, and i hope i have made them right.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,767 other followers

Right Brain vs. Left Brain Test

In My Community

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 96,276 hits
Flag Counter

