Spring Cleaning and a Forgotten Poem

March 15, 2016 at 9:32 am 5 comments


Credit: Snoopy by Charles Schulz

“If a cluttered desk is a sign of a cluttered mind, of what, then,” Albert Einstein quipped, “is an empty desk a sign?”

Good question. But I think you already know the answer.

An empty desk can be taken as a sign of not being alive. it’s dead like the surface of the moon.

A cluttered desk may come as a result of a cluttered mind. Or it may not. It may look messy, but it signifies life. It breathes as a result of human activity.

The same can be said of a cluttered computer. The more it’s used, the more clutter it accumulates. It’s just the way it is.

This weekend I noticed that my computer was intolerably running slow. One of the steps that I took to give it a new lease on life was freeing up disk space. It involved removing stuff that were at one time held dear. These included games, apps, documents, and media files. Deciding what to delete wasn’t easy as it meant letting go of the past. But it was something I had to do to keep my sanity.

As I went through my computer files, I took pleasure of rediscovering something like this poem I wrote many years ago. It was in response to an art work by a fellow blogger. It was a drawing of a heart with the message proclaiming that “love is what we live for.” Ha ha. She was then having a crush on somebody. Darn, we lost touch before I knew what happened. Anyway, I’m not mentioning her name to protect her privacy.


my heart says it all
and i draw it true
with a steady hand
to guide me through

in black and white
our story emerges
i don’t need rainbows
to color the senses

my heart says it all
i want the world to see
love is what we live for
you and me, eternally

 
I think Mr. Einstein will agree that clutter wherever found, be it on a desk or in a computer, are facts of life. They pose no harm for as long as they remain manageable. You’ll know it’s time to de-clutter when the situation has reached the point of no return and you can’t handle it anymore.

Entry filed under: Blogroll. Tags: , , , , , .

Wordless Wednesday: Sainte-Chapelle She Lied

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nice2beme  |  March 16, 2016 at 2:57 am

    I have the same problem with the computer all the time. I need to rearrange all my files and folder all the time… But when I`m starting to do this i could find real “pearls” which are hidden from me;)

    Reply
    • 2. plaridel  |  March 17, 2016 at 10:07 am

      nice2beme:

      it happens to me all the time. 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. yuhublogger  |  February 2, 2017 at 10:30 am

    I liked your poem… I’m glad you found it.

    Reply
    • 4. plaridel  |  February 2, 2017 at 10:39 am

      yuhublogger:

      thank you. i deeply appreciate your comment.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


From The Book Thief

i have hated the words and i have loved them, and i hope i have made them right.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,724 other followers

Right Brain vs. Left Brain Test

In My Community

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 92,819 hits
Flag Counter

