Using Gestures

February 13, 2017 at 10:08 am 4 comments

Charlie Brown

Credit: Charlie Brown by Charles Schulz

Our ancestors learned to use gestures to communicate before they began to speak. It has been part of the human DNA ever since. But the practice can be a double-edge sword. Sometimes, it can lead to misunderstanding.

Last Saturday, I went to the post office to mail a package. After standing in line for about 20 minutes, I finally found myself second in line to be served. When one of the two postal employees at the counter became open, I made a gesture to the guy ahead of me to get his attention.

“Don’t point,” he glared at me.

Oops! I meant well. I was just trying to be nice, but instead of getting a positive reaction from him, I got the exact opposite.

Time and time again, I have been reminded that finger-pointing is considered rude in the U.S. and other parts of the world. Unfortunately, bad habits die hard. Even if you think you have gotten rid of them, they tend to resurface once in a while.

Like finger-pointing, many seemingly innocuous gestures in one country can get you in trouble in another country due to cultural differences. Here are some examples:

In the Philippines, curling your index finger to beckon somebody to come to you is highly offensive. It’s usually reserved for a dog. It was probably the reason why I quit my first job in New York when my team leader did it to me. I found it personally demeaning.

In Bulgaria, I learned that nodding means “no” and turning your head left and right means “yes”. Just imagine the fun I had when asking the locals for directions.

In Italy, I got confused when I saw the hotel staff waving as we were leaving as if they wanted us to come back. It was actually the opposite. It was their way of saying good-bye.

In Greece, putting the palm out towards somebody like a traffic cop signaling “stop” is the most insulting gesture among the Greeks. Be forewarned when traveling over there.

No doubt about it, gestures improve communication and help get our point across. It can even be a life-saver when traveling in a country where you don’t speak the language. Still, it pays to be discreet. We have to be careful where and when we use them.

Entry filed under: Blogroll, daily prompt. Tags: , , , .

Weekly Photo Challenge: Shadow Wordless Wednesday: Franz Kafka’s Childhood Residence

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. handmadejewelryhaven  |  February 13, 2017 at 8:07 pm

    I guess we don’t need to mention the middle finger…lol.
    But seriously…
    did you know that in Roman times, a man giving a woman the ‘thumbs up’ meant that he was still able to perform ‘his manly duties’?
    This might seem crass to us now…but it was actually an important way of communicating as it was not uncommon for women to die early in childbirth, leaving many ‘older’ men widowed. The young women, in turn, were oftentimes widowed as the men were all ‘committed’ to the Roman Army and were killed.
    This left a plethora of young widows and older widowers on the search for new mates.

    Just a piece of trivial history. 🙂
    Thanks for sharing this post…as I plan to travel to Greece one day.

    – Lisa

    Reply
    • 2. plaridel  |  February 14, 2017 at 4:41 pm

      lisa:

      enjoyed that interesting info. by the way, in italy, they start counting beginning with the thumb. as a result, if you’re asked how many, you raise your thumb up if you want ‘one’ and you raise your index finger when you want ‘two’ and so on.

      anyway, greece is a great country to visit. so much history. friendly people, too. 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. updownflight  |  April 3, 2017 at 9:43 am

    Good topic!

    My Czech husband HATES when I point. Especially if I point towards his direction. I guess I can kind of understand that, though. But when driving (as the “Back seat driver”) sometimes I feel compelled to point rather than say “Go left”. Sometimes in the midst of confusion one forgets left from right.

    Reply
    • 4. plaridel  |  April 3, 2017 at 6:49 pm

      updownflight:

      thank you. i guess i’m not alone. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


From The Book Thief

i have hated the words and i have loved them, and i hope i have made them right.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,767 other followers

Right Brain vs. Left Brain Test

In My Community

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 96,301 hits
Flag Counter

