Portrait of a Chinese as a Scammer

October 17, 2012 at 11:00 pm 15 comments

My uncle received another e-mail solicitation offering to sell products from Apple, Nokia, and Samsung for way below market prices. Again, it came from a company based in China.

When he asked me for my opinion, I thought it was a scam right away. But I decided to give the company the benefit of the doubt. I went to investigate and tried to find out what I could on the internet.

When I clicked on their online address, www.yinbos.com, I was directed to the Central Electronic Shop web site.

It looks very professional and even includes testimonials from satisfied but unnamed customers.

I used the whois service to get some information on the domain. I found that it is a new one having registered through godaddy.com on Sep. 17, 2012 by a certain Mage Chen in Shenzhen, Guandong, China.

As part of my investigation, I asked my uncle to get a quote for a 16gb Ipad 2 with wifi. It would be $140 including shipping. As an incentive, it would come with one free case and one micro SD card 64gb/USB flash drive. What a deal! But wait, there was more. The invoice would also state that it was a “gift” or “free samples” to avoid paying the customs tax.

I then told my uncle to ask them if he could pay using a credit card or Paypal. A sales person named Erica answered that they could accept only bank to bank transfer, Western Union, or Money Gram. It was to avoid the exorbitant fees charged by credit card companies and Paypal and pass the savings to their customers.

Finally, I told my uncle to tell the sales person that he was amenable to Western Union on condition that she provided him with a copy of the identification card of Qingxiu Gan, the person who would be picking up the money. She sent the following id putting a face on the company bagman.

Since I can’t read Chinese, I asked a friend to translate it for me. The name on the card was Shuiji Fen which didn’t match the name given by the sales person.

Further research on the internet using the Chinese language search engine, baidu, revealed that it’s likely an invalid card. It has also been linked to many consumer scams.

My friend suspects that the id might have been downloaded from the link below:


These findings led me to believe that the company is a fraud and operated by not very nice people. I advised my uncle to stop dealing with them at once.

At this point, it would be unfair to say that all Chinese businessmen are scammers out to take your money. It’s just that a few rotten apples tend to ruin the entire barrel.

Moving forward, there are many resources available on the internet that anyone can use to identify and report potential scams. here are a few of them:

fraudwatchers.org fraudwatchers.org
scamomatic.com scamomatic.com
scamadviser.com scamadviser.com

Lastly, always remember if it’s too good to be true, it probably is. Forget about the possibility of buying heavily discounted brand name electronics in China. It simply doesn’t exist.

Entry filed under: Blogroll, daily prompt. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

One Born Every Minute: Beware of Chinese Online Scam weekly photo challenge: silhouette

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. andy  |  October 18, 2012 at 12:47 pm

    It is easy to open another web site to fool other people.

    • 2. plaridel  |  October 18, 2012 at 4:11 pm


      you’re absolutely right.

  • 3. plaridel  |  October 18, 2012 at 6:26 pm

    be wary of the following online store addresses. they direct you to the same central electronic shop website or a clone thereof.


    i suspect that they are operated by the same group of chinese scammers. once they start feeling the heat from defrauded customers, i expect them to close shop only to open again with different identities.

  • 4. fraud  |  October 20, 2012 at 7:53 pm

    I like the valuable info you provide in your articles. I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here frequently. I’m
    quite certain I’ll learn lots of new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

  • 5. Anonymous  |  November 6, 2012 at 3:13 am

    They also emailed me after I requested info on Aliexpress.com for a 4G router. I got in touch with some company called Global Technology Co.,ltd Contact person, Elena Wang, and she responded to my requested, and just after that she started spamming me with tons of less than 100 USD iphone5, cellphones, macbooks etc, all available at a website called http://www.wekisc.com which was just created yesterday, by the very same MAGE CHEN person. This is obviously a scammer!

    • 6. plaridel  |  November 6, 2012 at 9:55 am


      there are really a slot of scammers out there. if it’s obviously s scam if they offer brand named products like apple below retail price and ask to be paid to a person through western union, money gram, or baml to bank to bank transfer. the possibility of conviction is very low so the incentive to commit this crime is high. let the buyer beware.

  • 7. haroon  |  November 11, 2012 at 12:06 am


    Its a scam as well be aware !!!

    • 8. plaridel  |  November 18, 2012 at 8:26 am


      thanks for info.

  • 9. Pleura  |  November 17, 2012 at 11:39 pm

    Same happened to me in November 2012, I sent inquires to Aliexpress.com and Alibaba.com and i received replies to my email then i started receiving very interesting offers on the items i wanted, i finished the transaction with Ms. ERICA and transferred the money to her but she did not send the items although she gave me a fake DHL tracking number.
    They sell anything not only branded mobile, i lost US$ 100.00 on some wireless network items.
    QingXiu Gan is a scammer and you will lose your money if you transfer money to this person.
    Buyer beware of any transaction through western union, money gram, those Chines companies will take your money and will send you nothing.
    This is their website http://www.henruns.com but they can have any website and any name so just beware.

    • 10. plaridel  |  November 18, 2012 at 8:35 am


      if there’s a lesson to be learned here, it’s never ever use western union, money gram, or bank to bank transfer for payment for merchandise overseas, most especially if the recipient is an individual.

  • 11. rfsdf  |  November 19, 2012 at 1:20 pm

    and the same with wekisc.com ! be careful…

    • 12. plaridel  |  November 19, 2012 at 2:45 pm


      you’re right. when i clicked on the link, it went to the same central electronics website.

  • 13. Justin  |  December 17, 2012 at 10:03 am

    http://www.pinkkee.com – Erica just offered $125 Samsung Note 2 with a free one as a gift. Asked her to show me transaction histories and got two “business certificates” in Chinese. She wants me to send payments to:

    Account Name: QingXiu Gan
    Account Number: 62178 564 00002 788652
    Bank Name: Bank of China Fujian Branch
    Bank Code: BKCH CN BJ 720
    Bank Address: 136 Wusi Road, Fuzhou 350003, Fujian Prov., China

    I knew this was a scam and was very thankful to find this blog.

    • 14. plaridel  |  December 17, 2012 at 4:00 pm


      i’m glad you read the post just in time.

  • 15. plaridel  |  March 18, 2013 at 4:55 pm

    more sites to watch for:


    when you click on their online address, you’ll be directed to either one of these web pages:



Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed

From The Book Thief

i have hated the words and i have loved them, and i hope i have made them right.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,364 other followers

Right Brain vs. Left Brain Test

In My Community

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 148,144 hits
Flag Counter

%d bloggers like this: