It’s Been a Long Winter

March 16, 2011 at 1:00 am 5 comments

Rain

 
Sunny days remain a blur as more rains are expected to come next week. Perhaps it’s time to say enough is enough! This season has already made a lot of people miserable and susceptible to cold, flu, fever, sore throat, and while I’m on it, bronchitis. This sad state of affairs is more evident to commuters like me.

In the train that I take everyday, you see people in various stages of disease. It’s quite easy to spot them. Do they smell of mint or cough drops? Do they wear an extra layer of clothing? Do their faces show the sign of an impending sneeze? Do you see a red nose that looks like it’s been invaded by a pimple? If your answer to any of these questions is a ‘yes’, by Jove you’ve got it. Another giveaway is to look into their hands. One hand will be wearing a glove while the other will be bare so the fingers can hold the tissue more securely for the nose blowing contest. Yet another is a pair of red, watery eyes, but you can’t see that because they’ll be wearing sunglasses. On a dark and wintry day? you tell me.

I thought I’d be safe from the usual winter maladies this year but my luck seemed to have run out. Yesterday, I was seated in a crowded train when a fellow commuter standing beside me started coughing. I knew she was trying to hold it but to no avail. In fact, it might have made the coughing worse. Throughout the trip she was coughing. From time to time there would be a lull but the coughing would eventually continue with other passengers joining with their unique coughing styles. It was a total nightmare. I never felt so relieved to arrive at my station.

Last night, I found myself coughing incessantly in bed I must have awakened the whole neighborhood. I was also overcome by a feeling of guilt. I should have offered my seat to the sick lady, but I chose to take a nap instead. I deserved what I got. I didn’t behave like a true gentleman. I think my contrition was so sincere I was saved. I felt better when the morning came and was able to go to work.

Entry filed under: Blogroll, daily prompt. Tags: , , , , , , .

yo, i’m back The Secret Is Out

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ladynimue  |  March 16, 2011 at 6:47 am

    Take care still ..

    Reply
    • 2. plaridel  |  March 16, 2011 at 6:08 pm

      ladynimue:

      thanks. i feel much better now.

      Reply
      • 3. ladynimue  |  March 23, 2011 at 11:39 am

        Good !

        PS : thanks for the comments on my post. Will reply in detail there 🙂
        PPS : You can trace the image source from the link on my post and use the same ! I too loved the colors used in the pic !

        Reply
  • 4. sub  |  March 21, 2011 at 12:15 am

    whew, climate change. pati din pala kayo affected. take care!

    Reply
    • 5. plaridel  |  March 21, 2011 at 1:20 pm

      sub:

      climate change it is. it’s the sign of the times.

      Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


From The Book Thief

i have hated the words and i have loved them, and i hope i have made them right.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,516 other subscribers

Right Brain vs. Left Brain Test

In My Community

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 168,400 hits
Flag Counter