6-Inch Subway: Does It Measure Up?

April 24, 2013 at 9:44 am 7 comments




 
I took a 6-inch Subway turkey sandwich home with me last night. Since I never had one in ages, I thought it was a great idea. I find a Subway sandwich not only a healthy alternative to the Big Mac, but also offers more value for the money.

Early this year, Subway has gotten some flak. Somebody from Australia I’d call Matt Corby because that’s his name discovered something amiss about the footlong sandwich that he ordered. It seemed like it was shorter than advertised. But rather than depend on his instincts, he lay it on the table like a cadaver and measured it using a tape measure. He was right. It measured a mere 11 inches.

The discovery had got him upset. He had the right to be. It struck a deep chord in his belly. As every guy knows, every inch counts. It matters to his favorite football game. It matters to something more personal and intimate like his height and you know what.

He took a photo of the footshort footlong sandwich alongside the tape for good measure and posted it on Facebook looking for answers. In matter of minutes of his posting, it went viral inspiring similar photos from others who felt cheated by the fast-food chain. Soon all hell broke loose when mainstream media picked up the story and joined the conversation.

To its credit, Subway management went into immediate damage control. It explained that customer satisfaction has always been their top priority. As a result, they have redoubled their quality control procedures to ensure that every sandwich sold at their restaurants doesn’t come up short length-wise. They could have added that although it wasn’t intentional on their part, the undersized sandwiches have contributed to the well-being of its customers because eating less is healthy.

Because of the unwelcomed publicity, my confidence on subway as an honest-to-goodness fast-food chain has been, to borrow from James Bond, stirred and shaken. For my own peace of mind, I decided to do what I didn’t usually do. Needing reassurance that the sandwich that I just bought was really 6-inches long as advertised, I put it to the test. I got a ruler and measured it like every guy would do when in doubt with something. Voila! It was right on the money. After taking a picture as evidence, I had it for dinner. It never tasted so good.

Entry filed under: Blogroll, daily prompt. Tags: , , , , .

weekly travel theme: contrast weekly photo challenge: culture

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ron Scubadiver  |  April 24, 2013 at 9:47 am

    Well, the sandwiches taste good, are cheap and much lower in fat and salt than other fast food. I guess they will have to put an asterisk on their menu and say their foot has 11 inches.

    Reply
    • 2. plaridel  |  April 24, 2013 at 2:35 pm

      ron:

      i agree. they’re slightly better than the competition. 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. dianewrites  |  April 28, 2013 at 5:30 pm

    wow, it surpassed the test 🙂
    I agree that subway is a healthier alternative. though unfortunately, I think the chain is not doing well in the Philippines. Several branches have closed already.

    Reply
    • 4. plaridel  |  April 28, 2013 at 9:03 pm

      diane:

      too much competition, i guess, with the likes of jollibee and the others.

      Reply
  • 5. The Mind of The Last Atlanta Native  |  May 13, 2013 at 8:30 pm

    […] 6-inch subway: does it measure up? […]

    Reply
  • 6. mumsthewordblog1  |  April 14, 2017 at 11:41 pm

    I enjoyed this … and I enjoy Subway, even if it short changes me! 😝🐻

    Reply
    • 7. plaridel  |  April 15, 2017 at 2:53 pm

      mumsthewordblog1:

      i’m with you. it’s healthier than the other fast food competitors.

      Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


From The Book Thief

i have hated the words and i have loved them, and i hope i have made them right.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,515 other subscribers

Right Brain vs. Left Brain Test

In My Community

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 168,517 hits
Flag Counter