The Good Life

November 12, 2012 at 10:55 am 26 comments

For Dawn Q. Laundau’s 2019 Attitude of Gratitude Challenge:
5 January 2020




 
I’ve traveled a lot by air this year in spite of the fact that like John Madden of football fame I’m scared to fly. I made trips in April, May, July, August, and September earning significant miles credit.

I guess it was during one of those trips that I realized how good life is. It was when I was looking at the clouds through the window that it hit me.

“Wow,” I marveled to myself. “It’s kind of a miracle that I’m up here and I’m not even dead yet.”

A century ago, only a few souls would have thought that air travel was possible. In our time, it has become routine like going to the dentist..

To keep myself from being bored during that long trip, I closed my eyes and thought of things that make our lives wonderful. I was surprised that it didn’t take me a long time to make up the list.

You turn on the tap and water will come out. Just like that. You don’t need a well and muscle to fetch water for use in your home.

You turn on the heater on winter. You don’t need a fireplace to keep you warm.

You can wash your clothes for $5 at the laundromat without breaking your wallet.

You can have hot showers anytime you want to or cold showers if you’re brave enough.

You flick on a switch and the light will come on as if by magic.

You can cook gourmet dish in the microwave.

You can make love in a waterbed.

And the list goes on… Starbucks. Satellite TV. Smartphone. Internet. Homebanking. SUV. ATM. Laptop. WIFI. Xbox. Ipod. Ipad. Texting. etc. etc.

As I went through the list, however, I felt a sense of foreboding. These stuff have defined our way of life in such a way that we’d go to great lengths to ensure their preservation.

Is that the real reason why we go to war? In Iraq and in Afghanistan and elsewhere?

It was at that point that i opened my eyes. I felt the need to pee. and I mean it literally, folks. Ha-ha. As the season of goodwill is upon us, this isn’t the time to make a political statement.

I got off the plane on that day relieved that it didn’t crash. I had also become mindful of the blessings that I often take for granted. They are great to have for sure. Still, they are nothing compared to meeting you and you and especially you in this journey we call life. As Clarence, in the movie, “It’s a Wonderful Life,” said, “…No man is a failure who has friends.”

Entry filed under: Blogroll, Daily Post. Tags: , , , .

weekly photo challenge: renewal Weekly Photo Challenge: Green

26 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jeni  |  November 12, 2012 at 11:55 am

    One more: you can go to the bathroom at 30,000 feet.

    Reply
    • 2. plaridel  |  November 12, 2012 at 12:56 pm

      jeni:

      but of course. why didn’t i think of that? 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. masadiso79  |  November 13, 2012 at 12:09 am

    Love it!

    Reply
    • 4. plaridel  |  November 13, 2012 at 9:22 am

      masadiso:

      thanks.

      Reply
  • 5. emilayskie  |  November 13, 2012 at 1:34 pm

    You can easily press buttons to talk to your loved ones from thousands of miles away which was totally impossible just some decades ago. It is a good life in deed.

    Reply
    • 6. plaridel  |  November 13, 2012 at 2:54 pm

      emilayskie:

      and to see them, too, via skype or other similar programs. 🙂

      Reply
  • 7. AC  |  November 15, 2012 at 7:10 am

    And we can read your blog while lying in the bed and not having to turn on the computer. Thank God for the ipod, phone, wi-fi and mobile internet. 😀

    Reply
    • 8. plaridel  |  November 15, 2012 at 4:09 pm

      ac:

      i think we’re getting too spoiled already. i wonder what’s next? 🙂

      Reply
  • 9. Kidmat Eden  |  November 15, 2012 at 3:00 pm

    And we can instantly share bizarre and original or not-so-original thoughts with strangers…

    By the way, I don’t intend to scare you, but this picture and the first paragraph reminds me of an article I read last week, about ‘Gliding Gimli’ – a 747 Air Canada flight that lost all engines at 41,000 feet. It happened almost 30 years ago. They basically ran out of fuel, and didn’t know it, due to a series of events and errors. All passengers and crew survived. An incredible story, you should look it up! It will make you feel better about the skill of airline pilots.

    Reply
    • 10. plaridel  |  November 15, 2012 at 4:19 pm

      kidmat eden:

      just googled it and found this related article from wikipedia:

      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Deadstick_landing

      i understand most flights now are run by computers and require less human intervention that pilots can take nap while on duty. still, we need them to handle any emergency should it occur.

      Reply
  • 11. alan  |  December 2, 2014 at 3:47 pm

    Yes, air travel reminds me of going to the dentist. I have to pay for the pain but feel a lot better when it’s over.

    Reply
    • 12. plaridel  |  December 2, 2014 at 11:10 pm

      alan:

      thanks for stopping by. much appreciated. 🙂

      Reply
  • 13. Countdown to Christmas for Canines | litadoolan  |  December 11, 2014 at 10:36 am

    […] Musings of a Random Mindthe good life […]

    Reply
  • […] Musings of a Random Mind the good life […]

    Reply
  • 15. Hemangini  |  September 16, 2016 at 8:01 pm

    wow.. that’s some article. Love the ideas, so funny!

    Reply
    • 16. plaridel  |  October 2, 2016 at 7:35 pm

      Hemangini:

      i’m glad you liked it. thank you.

      Reply
  • 17. Robert Dickinson  |  December 24, 2016 at 4:04 pm

    Great post and a merry xmas to you.

    Merry Christmas

    Reply
    • 18. plaridel  |  December 26, 2016 at 3:30 pm

      rob:

      thank you and hope you enjoy the holidays, too.

      Reply
  • 19. Anna  |  December 24, 2016 at 5:21 pm

    I wish I had a well. A wishing well if any, in addition to everything else of course. https://gottalovemystudio.wordpress.com/2016/12/25/the-daily-prompt-bounty-why-i-love-my-studio/

    Reply
    • 20. plaridel  |  December 26, 2016 at 3:29 pm

      anna:

      well, i hope some of your wishes come true. happy holidays. 🙂

      Reply
  • 21. Dawn Quyle Landau  |  January 7, 2020 at 3:35 pm

    Plaribel, Happy New Year! I’ve missed you and all of my other FF writing friends! ☺

    I love this post from a while back, on things that make you happy, gratitude, and good fortune. However, if you would like to leave your link on my Attitude of Gratitude Challenge page, please check out the “rules,” from my post: https://talesfromthemotherland.me/2020/01/05/the-2019-attitude-of-gratitude/and

    This is my 6th year, and I’ve always let bloggers know that if they post something that’s not related to the challenge, I need to remove it, out of respect for this project. I’d love to include this post, but hope that you will check out the rules and add a link and an acknowledgment that you are participating–– ideally, both will be at the top of your post. It’s pretty easy to edit and add things, even to old posts, so this should be easy. Let me me know if you have any questions. I hope we can fix this glitch and keep your wonderful post in the queue. All the best in 2020!

    Reply
    • 22. plaridel  |  January 7, 2020 at 8:00 pm

      dawn:

      thanks for the heads up. i stand corrected. fixed as we speak.

      Reply
  • 23. rochellewisoff  |  January 7, 2020 at 5:30 pm

    Dear Plaridel,

    What a wonderful post. I’m glad you linked it. Thank you for the reminder of those miraculous conveniences we take for granted.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Reply
    • 24. plaridel  |  January 7, 2020 at 8:00 pm

      rochelle:

      an oldie but goodie but still relevant. i’m glad you liked it. 🙂

      Reply
  • 25. Dawn Quyle Landau  |  January 8, 2020 at 3:25 pm

    Thanks, Plaribel. I’ve just added a link to your post on the bottom of mine. We are all connected in gratitude. Again, Happy New Year!

    Reply
    • 26. plaridel  |  January 9, 2020 at 8:43 am

      trent:

      same here.

      Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


From The Book Thief

i have hated the words and i have loved them, and i hope i have made them right.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,515 other subscribers

Right Brain vs. Left Brain Test

In My Community

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 168,556 hits
Flag Counter